Aletsch – At Glaciers’ End

No glacier in the Alps matches the Great Aletsch Glacier. Yet, with temperatures rising, it is getting smaller. Back in 1877 the Konkordia Hut was built close to the glacier’s edge. Now a 150 meter high iron staircase must be climbed to get to the cabin’s entrance. How long will glaciers like the Aletsch Glacier last? Can the melting be stopped? – It’s a film about overwhelming nature, helpless humans and a question of time.

Motivation

Being an alpinist and alpine photographer Caroline Fink has been experiencing climate change during the past years. Other than in the cities, climate warming can be drastically seen in the mountains: Once white north faces become rocky slopes, melting permafrost makes rocks fall in places where there was no rockfall before and glaciers are smaller every year. With her film it is Caroline Fink’s goal to make these changes visible for a broader public.

Public Performances and Broadcasts

Our goal is to submit «Aletsch – At Glaciers’ End» to international mountain film and other festivals. Its length will be ideal for television broadcasts. We already look forward to the opening night at cinema Xenix in Zurich.

CO2

The shooting was done all human powered and by public transport. With one exception: After an accident on the glacier the filmmaker had to be flown to a close hospital by helicopter to have an injury stitched up.

Impressions

Picture 0c71b86b 4e37 40ba 94a1 b5bb6150ed44 Picture 0aa59b04 ae54 43fc ba1a 58e5b6c5c8d4 Picture b94ec4fc 5e8c 4800 aeda 3e325b17c36a Picture d2022075 dec4 49a4 b507 9ca0ecb1f692 Picture afb4b8de 89ef 4d5d 9a83 627703c6b808 Picture 22cb0cc8 c2d0 49e9 ae99 99a3259a3ed9 Picture 4744c251 f970 43ba acc0 30ecc62dbb55 Picture 55472836 0a58 41bc bdb4 428b81a1cd3f Picture 61586bf2 0b32 4a65 89ec 2250cc2b8f46 Picture e00c0d0a e99d 4aa4 a8fc c64962cc139b Picture a238b717 3cc9 4f41 a81c 03b84a611b17 Picture 5c06552a ee63 4a1a bd1d 12f7b83c288d Picture 5327415e b838 4ca3 a909 c1f36bbd5282

How Your Money Will be Spent

«Aletsch – At Glaciers’ End» started as a small no-budget project and one-woman-show. With time it became clear that the material is well suited for a 52 minutes long documentary. Your financial support will finance the professional post-production. What does this mean? It’s quite simple: As with photos, films need to be edited after shooting. But other than with pictures this process is a whole lot more complicated: For professional color correction, sound editing and suitable music filmmakers employ specialists working with sophisticated software and computers. Your support will be spent for these specialists. After the film has gone through post-production, it will be ready for international festivals and TV-stations.

The Producer

Beeing an experienced filmmaker and producer, Gitta Gsell runs Mirapix Productions in Zurich. With her Caroline Fink found the support to move forward with her project about the Aletsch Glacier.

Aletsch – At Glaciers' End

Der Aletschgletscher ist der grösste Gletscher der Alpen. Doch als Folge der Klimaerwärmung schwindet er. Lag die Konkordiahütte 1877 noch fast an seinem Rand, steigen Besucher heute über eine Treppe 150 Meter hoch zur Hütte. Wie lange noch wird es Eisströme wie diesen geben? Ist ihr Verschwinden noch zu stoppen? – Ein Film über grosse Natur, kleine Menschen und eine Frage der Zeit.

Motivation

Als Bergfotografin und Bergsteigerin sieht und erlebt Caroline Fink seit Jahren die Folgen der Klimaerwärmung in den Alpen. Anders als in der Stadt, ist diese am Berg drastisch sichtbar: Weiss verschneite Nordwände werden zu Schutthalden, schmelzender Permafrost führt zu Steinschlag, Gletscher sind jedes Jahr kürzer. Diese Veränderungen zu thematisieren, ist ihr ein Anliegen mit diesem Film.

Geplante Aufführungen

Ziel ist es, den Film an Filmfestivals, insbesondere an internationalen Bergfilmfestivals, einzureichen. Von der Länge her wird er sich auch für das Fernsehen eignen. Die Première wird im Kino Xenix in Zürich stattfinden.

CO2

Die gesamten Dreharbeiten wurden mit öffentlichen Verkehrsmitteln und zu Fuss realisiert. Mit einer Ausnahme: Ein Helikopterflug musste in Anspruch genommen werden, um die Filmerin nach einem Unfall auf dem Gletscher zum Nähen ins Spital Visp zu fliegen.

Impressionen

Picture 0c71b86b 4e37 40ba 94a1 b5bb6150ed44Picture 0aa59b04 ae54 43fc ba1a 58e5b6c5c8d4Picture b94ec4fc 5e8c 4800 aeda 3e325b17c36aPicture d2022075 dec4 49a4 b507 9ca0ecb1f692Picture afb4b8de 89ef 4d5d 9a83 627703c6b808Picture 22cb0cc8 c2d0 49e9 ae99 99a3259a3ed9Picture 4744c251 f970 43ba acc0 30ecc62dbb55Picture 55472836 0a58 41bc bdb4 428b81a1cd3fPicture 61586bf2 0b32 4a65 89ec 2250cc2b8f46Picture e00c0d0a e99d 4aa4 a8fc c64962cc139bPicture a238b717 3cc9 4f41 a81c 03b84a611b17Picture 5c06552a ee63 4a1a bd1d 12f7b83c288dPicture 5327415e b838 4ca3 a909 c1f36bbd5282

Wohin deine Unterstützung fliesst

«Aletsch – At Glaciers’ End» startete als kleines No-Budget-Projekt, bei dem Caroline Fink Kamerafrau, Tonfrau, Regisseurin und Logistikerin in einem war. Nach Abschluss der Dreharbeiten wurde klar, dass sich das Material für einen 52-minütigen Dokumentarfilm eignet. Deine Unterstützung ermöglicht eine professionelle Postproduktion. Was bedeutet dies? Wie bei Fotos auch, wird ein Film nach dem Entstehen nachbearbeitet. Anders als bei Fotos ist dies bei einem Film aber viel komplizierter. Für eine professionelle Bildkorrektur (Color Correction), Tonkorrektur (Sound Editing) und passende Musik braucht es Spezialistinnen und Spezialisten mit ebenso spezieller Software und Computern. Um diese Spezialisten zu bezahlen, wird dein Geld eingesetzt. Ist der Film fertig bearbeitet, kann Caroline Fink ihn bei internationalen Festivals und TV-Stationen einreichen.

Produzentin

Bei Büchern gibt es Verlage, bei Filmen Produktionsfirmen: Mit der Filmemacherin Gitta Gsell und ihrer Produktionsfirma mirapix fand Caroline Fink eine erfahrene Produzentin, die sie bei der Umsetzung des Projekts unterstützt.