A DARKROOM ON WHEELS DRIVEN BY A PASSION FOR PHOTOGRAPHY

With your help, I going to rebuild a darkroom wagon inspired by photography from the 1860s.

For almost 10 years, I have been working as a photographer, author and lecturer of photography. I have also developed a passion for the creative possibilities of historical photography. I have written a book about my favourite technique - the collodion wet plate process and have exhibited photos at museums in Switzerland and Germany using this technique. This historical process which was in use from 1850 to 1900, is a very complex instant-image process in which all steps have to be completed while the plate is still wet. This means the darkroom must always be brought to the location.

Picture 3a502486 2787 42cd 8c97 7697508c43c1Picture 85a3decc 929b 4b41 a2b5 bd83b12e3947Picture 116ec87a d9ec 4871 8d24 1c5e0b5b1c69Picture bcad346c 0679 4371 9537 1ca27441fa0aPicture b17fce5d 421f 42f7 b7e5 0da905a8e8c0Picture 6792ce54 3a1d 49ad 88ec 924268f05487Picture 6e87efae ced8 4948 8715 4aa5156c2729Picture 8611a1a9 cb79 4aba a687 a3fc70c62c9fPicture 2f3249dd d1cb 49b7 8974 a2fa8d10eba6Picture 55567386 edc0 4f4e 85f7 74da7fb2c69ePicture e5674097 f8e5 4a28 b512 86731e41532dPicture 5fd1a528 d0b9 4525 8dd8 0ea5611b2e99Picture 3531458f 4f83 422e a2ed b85a2070d2cb

MY PROJECT HAS A LIVING HISTORY

Hardly any original darkroom wagons have survived and this historical photographic progress is becoming obsolete. The original darkroom wagons were too big and bulky. Many were destroyed by the corrosive processing chemicals. Today however, we have some illustrations which serve as an inspiration for me to design and build such a wagon. The new wagon has to meet modern requirements for environmental and worker safety and the safe usage of chemicals. Likewise, an infrared camera will be installed for museums and exhibitions, ensuring visitors can also follow on the screen what is happening in the darkroom.

Whenever possible, the wagon should be built as it would have been built 150 years ago. Employing local sources, the wagon will be manufactured within 3 km of my studio. From the apprentice to the senior boss, our local blacksmiths (located in the middle of my village) is looking forward to starting the work. The wood is provided by my studio neighbor who runs a woodworking workshop which is a protected facility within the Wabe Foundation in Wald. The wax cloth fabric will be weaved by a former weaving mill also located in my village. The oil paint I will make myself, and since I studied as cabinet-maker 30 years ago, I’m glad that the wood chips will fly again…

In addition to my own artistic activities and workshops, the wagon will be used in various open-air museums and exhibitions. It can be easily packed into an estate car as the wheels can be dismantled and travel on the roof.

Picture 3740d1f2 c4c3 4027 a636 3a07f220efc4Picture 33e9ee23 1203 43fd 8f45 220a71c72fabPicture 36fb523d 1a38 4c37 bd76 24dc28cc4373Picture 88136fcb 6f0c 4b39 adc3 5a0a19493eefPicture 75571162 5e48 46c1 b399 7c7f65bc1b7dPicture e86b4940 ad5e 49ef 9a9f 6585fc3c3e2fPicture 7e3c5a1b b054 4286 bf09 962d549b2dadPicture 95a32303 36fc 47ac 87e3 014cde1f9a3aPicture 6eb728b3 86f0 4c2c bf56 94716ce6b315Picture 87b90195 1f23 4ed3 a30b 6145e764fd63Picture 2ae4ac13 a989 4303 8aa5 5606477a7062Picture 42ab9d98 bad4 4efb 81f0 f3a7cbfa73ce

A PASSION FOR PHOTOGRAPHY

This project is also about the joy of photography and the construction of the darkroom is almost the campfire around which everything revolves. This projects leads itself to meeting many requirements:

• Pursuing my passion for photography • Using the wagon as a Unique Selling Propose for a unique photography process which attracts people • Sourcing as much as possible locally • Providing historical authenticity • Meeting modern safety and working standards

Please take a look at the accompanying Rewards which outlines how you can support this compelling project. With your support, I can start building the darkroom wagon and better convey my passion for this unique, historical photography in museums and workshops, as well as developing myself as an artist.

Thank you very much!

Yours, Peter Michels

Picture ec61e5a0 f16b 45b8 ac28 a4e1dcda59d1Picture 35ab9fdb c0de 44c1 8d32 04f60a42aeb8Picture c3ef90ed 805a 4925 ba02 2c9355b3e9f7Picture 55443c28 6201 43d6 a812 8c0600450493Picture fc2b15df 22c5 44ad afbd cad0bc4ddce1Picture 75ff26d6 7314 48bd 98e7 a488ba1d6719Picture 7727ff3a 31f1 4542 86a3 95829e048ceaPicture 3fcca3dc 67bb 4fd4 8d5f 1583f3d4fe69Picture a95396b8 0fa6 4909 b1e9 3e5730702da5Picture 05b06c74 7cc6 4d65 b2c9 d31ec2edd332Picture b1906054 e4ba 4bab a564 13ebba10fd49Picture e8c8a1cc 0163 4f8b 8808 e543406e2b01Picture ceccc6f3 71a4 4024 ba09 5ce3b896dfe0Picture a5c67e4e b0ae 4b77 90dd 0a85940d2782

AUS FREUDE AN DER PHOTOGRAPHIE: EINEN DUNKELKAMMERWAGEN BAUEN

Mit Eurer Hilfe werde ich einen Dunkelkammerwagen aus der Zeit von 1860/70 nachbauen.

Seit fast 10 Jahren beschäftige ich mich neben dem Alltag als Fotograf, Autor und Dozent für Fotografie mit den kreativen Möglichkeiten der historischen Photographie. Ich zeige in verschiedenen Museen in der Schweiz und Deutschland wie damals photographiert wurde. Über meine Lieblingstechnik die Kollodium Nassplatte habe ich ein Handbuch geschrieben (siehe Belohnungen) Diese Technik war von 1850 bis 1900 in Gebrauch, ein höchst komplexer Sofortbildprozess in welchem alle Arbeitsschritte noch nass erledigt werden müssen. Aus diesem Grund muss die Dunkelkammer immer in der Nähe sein.

Picture 3a502486 2787 42cd 8c97 7697508c43c1Picture 85a3decc 929b 4b41 a2b5 bd83b12e3947Picture 116ec87a d9ec 4871 8d24 1c5e0b5b1c69Picture bcad346c 0679 4371 9537 1ca27441fa0aPicture b17fce5d 421f 42f7 b7e5 0da905a8e8c0Picture 6792ce54 3a1d 49ad 88ec 924268f05487Picture 6e87efae ced8 4948 8715 4aa5156c2729Picture 8611a1a9 cb79 4aba a687 a3fc70c62c9fPicture 2f3249dd d1cb 49b7 8974 a2fa8d10eba6Picture 55567386 edc0 4f4e 85f7 74da7fb2c69ePicture e5674097 f8e5 4a28 b512 86731e41532dPicture 5fd1a528 d0b9 4525 8dd8 0ea5611b2e99Picture 3531458f 4f83 422e a2ed b85a2070d2cb

MEIN PROJEKT HAT EINE LEBENDIGE GESCHICHTE

Es haben kaum originale Dunkelkammerwagen überlebt, mit dem technischen Fortschritt in der Photographie wurden sie obsolet. Sie waren zu groß, zu sperrig und die ätzenden Chemikalien zerstörten sie im Gebrauch. Heute kennen wir glücklicherweise einige zum Teil spektakuläre Abbildungen, welche mir als Inspiration dienten so einen solchen Wagen zu entwerfen und nachzubauen. Der Wagen muss den Ansprüchen an Arbeitssicherheit und an die heutige Arbeitsweise im Umgang mit Chemikalien erfüllen. Eine Infrarot-Kamera wird bei Museumsauftritten Installiert, damit Besucher auch an einen Bildschirm mitverfolgen können, was in der Dunkelkammer vor sich geht.

Soweit möglich soll der Wagen wie vor 150 Jahren gebaut werden. Alle Aufträge werden Lokal vergeben, der Wagen wird also im Umkreis von 3 km von meinem Atelier hergestellt. Unser Wald’er Dorfschmied freut sich vom Lehrling bis zum Seniorchef mit der Arbeit zu beginnen. Den Holzzuschnitt besorgen meine Ateliernachbarn der Holzwerkstatt des Behindertenzentrums Wabe in Wald. Das Wachstuch basiert auf Stoff einer ehemaligen Weberei in unserem Dorf. Die Ölfarbe stelle ich selber her. Da ich vor 30 Jahren selber mal das Schreinerhandwerk erlernt habe freue ich mich, dass die Späne nur so fliegen werden…

Der Wagen wird neben meiner eigenen künstlerischen Tätigkeit, in verschiedenen Freilichtmuseen zum Einsatz kommen, deshalb lässt er sich auf eine praktische Größe zusammenpacken und passt in den Kofferraum eines Kombis, die Räder kommen aufs Dach.

Picture 3740d1f2 c4c3 4027 a636 3a07f220efc4Picture 33e9ee23 1203 43fd 8f45 220a71c72fabPicture 36fb523d 1a38 4c37 bd76 24dc28cc4373Picture 88136fcb 6f0c 4b39 adc3 5a0a19493eefPicture 75571162 5e48 46c1 b399 7c7f65bc1b7dPicture e86b4940 ad5e 49ef 9a9f 6585fc3c3e2fPicture 7e3c5a1b b054 4286 bf09 962d549b2dadPicture 95a32303 36fc 47ac 87e3 014cde1f9a3aPicture 6eb728b3 86f0 4c2c bf56 94716ce6b315Picture 87b90195 1f23 4ed3 a30b 6145e764fd63Picture 2ae4ac13 a989 4303 8aa5 5606477a7062Picture 42ab9d98 bad4 4efb 81f0 f3a7cbfa73ce

MIT EUCH FREUDE AN PHOTOGRAPHIE VERMITTELN

In diesem Projekt geht es auch um Deinen Spass an der Photographie, der Bau der Dunkelkammer ist quasi das Lagerfeuer um das sich alles dreht.

  • Freude an Photographie vermitteln
  • Mit dem Wagen ein visuellen USP erreichen
  • Soweit wie möglich «im Dorf» produzieren / herstellen
  • Eine historische Authentizität vermitteln
  • Moderne Sicherheits- und Arbeitsbestimmungen erfüllen können
  • Chancen für Auszubildende schaffen

Mit Deiner Unterstützung kann ich den Bau des Dunkelkammerwagens realisieren und das faszinierende der Photographie in Museen & Workshops besser vermitteln sowie mich als Künstler weiterentwickeln.

Herzlichen Dank!

Euer Peter Michels

Picture ec61e5a0 f16b 45b8 ac28 a4e1dcda59d1Picture 35ab9fdb c0de 44c1 8d32 04f60a42aeb8Picture c3ef90ed 805a 4925 ba02 2c9355b3e9f7Picture 55443c28 6201 43d6 a812 8c0600450493Picture fc2b15df 22c5 44ad afbd cad0bc4ddce1Picture 75ff26d6 7314 48bd 98e7 a488ba1d6719Picture 7727ff3a 31f1 4542 86a3 95829e048ceaPicture 3fcca3dc 67bb 4fd4 8d5f 1583f3d4fe69Picture a95396b8 0fa6 4909 b1e9 3e5730702da5Picture 05b06c74 7cc6 4d65 b2c9 d31ec2edd332Picture b1906054 e4ba 4bab a564 13ebba10fd49Picture e8c8a1cc 0163 4f8b 8808 e543406e2b01Picture ceccc6f3 71a4 4024 ba09 5ce3b896dfe0Picture a5c67e4e b0ae 4b77 90dd 0a85940d2782