Porn To Hula - South America Tour 2018

We are taking advantage of our network and are organizing a tour throughout Chile, Argentina and Uruguay in April/May 2018

We are offered concerts, a radio- and a studio session, plus screenings of our awarded documentary «The Long March» (2014, R: Philip Huemer, feat. Porn To Hula, Loten Namling). Especially in Chile, we’re looking forward to a discourse with the politically, culturally and artistically very active scene there.

Porn To Hula - beyond the cliché

We like dancing on the red carpet of Rock’n Roll Clichés, playing with stereotypes and don’t hesitate to set almost surreal tasks for us: No matter, if it is a co-operation with the tibetan freedom activist and gifted singer Loten Namling («The Long March», 2012-2014, LP, CD, DVD, Feature Documentary), performing beyond the boundaries of traditional gendering or implementing central american rhythms to our music, without ever getting predictable. That is, of course, a challenge to everyone, including our audience, and turns a Porn To Hula show into a sensual and physical event.

We're lacking the plane tickets.

Being used to working D.I.Y. (with Panta RE and Rough Trade as distribution backing up), we established a well - developed, widespread network, touring in european countries such as Germany, Italy, France and Spain, aside from Austria. We always calculate in a way that let’s us perform independently from potential investors or fundings. Basically, it’s the same with the tour in South America: taking in account the outcome of our shows in Europe, our will to invest an amount by ourselves for «higher reasons», if you may, and adding an expectably low average of fees in South America, we are able to finance that tour by ourselves, again. But we are not able to also invest in the plane tickets without additional help. Since the organizers of the tour appear to be very committed, offering us 13 concerts, several film screenings, plus a radio- and a studio recording session, we believe it’s definitely worth taking the chance to present the band full scale, as the kind of «art project» we practice it for almost 20 years now.

Picture 3a0900a0 3fb7 49ab aefd f365c0443f6ePicture b540d0b6 3c84 497c afde a7dc42e914d2Picture 1350500d 3980 4a2c 96af 1b642ac577e3Picture 669dd8f4 22e6 4474 874d 94bd903871aaPicture 0b2dc18c 2fa7 41ca b1c3 9935a423e1a0Picture c1302f87 801b 4032 be40 34df41ccd8bfPicture f593bfb6 5aea 42dd aaa8 466fcb017630Picture bd713991 d594 488e ba87 5d380d9515d0

Porn To Hula Südamerika Tournee 2018

Wir werden unser Netzwerk nützen und wollen im April/Mai 2018 eine Tournee durch Chile, Argentinien und Uruguay machen.

Am Programm stehen Konzerte, Radioauftritte, eine Studiosession sowie Vorführungen des preisgekrönten Films «The Long March» (2014, R: Philip Huemer, feat. Porn To Hula, Loten Namling). Wir erwarten vor allem in Chile einen Diskurs mit der kulturell, sozial und politisch traditionell sehr aktiven Szene.

Porn To Hula - jenseits der Klischees

Auf dem klischeebeladenen Parkett der lauten Rockmusik bewegen wir uns mit Leichtigkeit, spielen mit Stereotypen und zögern nicht, uns selbst immer wieder nahezu unmögliche Aufgaben zu stellen: Sei es die Kooperation mit dem Tibetischen Protestsänger Loten Namling («The Long March», 2012-2014, LP, CD, DVD, Feature Documentary), das Aufbrechen von Geschlechterrollen in der Rockmusik oder die Implementierung mittelamerikanischer Rhythmen, ohne dabei jemals der Versuchung der Berechenbarkeit zu erliegen. Das fordert uns genauso wie unser Publikum und macht Porn To Hula vor allem live zu einem physischen und sensuellen Ereignis.

Uns Fehlen die Flugkosten

Als Band im D.I.Y. Kontext (mit Panta RE als Label und Rough Trade als Vertrieb im Hintergrund) verfügen wir über ein breites Netzwerk an Kontakten und sind es gewohnt, uns selbst zu organisieren. Unsere Tourneen in europäischen Ländern (Österreich, Deutschland, Italien, Frankreich, Spanien bis jetzt) kalkulieren wir immer so, dass sie sich selbst tragen und wir nicht auf Investitionen von privater oder dritter Seite angewiesen sind. Im Prinzip ist es auch mit Südamerika dasselbe: Rücklagen aus den Konzerten in Europa, Eigeninvestitionen in Hinblick auf einen möglichen Mehrwert, sowie die kalkulierbar niedrigen Gagen in Süd Amerika tragen zwar die Tournee selber, doch die Flüge können wir davon nicht finanzieren. Da wir nebst 13 Konzerten aber auch noch die Screenings von «The Long March» sowie die beiden Sessions in Radio und Studio machen können, wollen wir die Chance, Porn To Hula im Gesamtpaket vorstellen zu können, nicht vorüberziehen lassen.

Picture 3a0900a0 3fb7 49ab aefd f365c0443f6ePicture b540d0b6 3c84 497c afde a7dc42e914d2Picture 1350500d 3980 4a2c 96af 1b642ac577e3Picture 669dd8f4 22e6 4474 874d 94bd903871aaPicture 0b2dc18c 2fa7 41ca b1c3 9935a423e1a0Picture c1302f87 801b 4032 be40 34df41ccd8bfPicture f593bfb6 5aea 42dd aaa8 466fcb017630Picture bd713991 d594 488e ba87 5d380d9515d0