TO THE SEA - THE FILM

To the sea is a film without dialogues, set at a stormy ocean, that could be anywhere. There is just the rough landscape, wind, music, water, the camera and the actors. We are telling the story of Maria. She lost her husband to the sea years ago. Since then she secluded herself from the world. But one day after a storm she pulls her husband out of the ocean again, alive and exactly how he was when he disappeared years ago. And a night begins, in which Maria will have to decide, whether she can continue withdrawing herself from reality - or if she will manage to find a way out of her grief and seclusion.

WHY THIS STORY IS IMPORTANT

We believe it is crucial that we open up to the world instead of living the illusion that we can withdraw ourselves from it. In all this, the power of love - that can also be a destructive power - plays a big role. Maria’s psychological isolation in the film is mirrored by the isolation of the world in which she lives: A coast, where it has become normal that corpses and people are washed up and cleaned away. Society has isolated itself from the world just like Maria. But suddenly the furnace of this world breaks: Maria is forced to overcome her loneliness. Like under a magnifying glass she stumbles into the focus of fate and reminds us what a lost human live really means, especially for those, who are left behind. Suddenly she has the opportunity to break out and see the world with living eyes again.

Picture 9fd3f8de 1f69 4a90 9da1 1e5cce85a7f5Picture bdb13038 3356 499b 957a 4642961e4954Picture 8fd496c0 cf8b 4b7b a5d0 d3e63f90f938Picture 4964c51f 2a55 41a2 ab81 844a7754032dPicture 0bfe9514 156c 4ac2 85bb eb579b18e68ePicture 82d02193 c411 4c1a aa63 913badc9e36dPicture bc68ba29 a8cd 48f0 8d4c 97244532d97a

OUR TEAM

HAGAR ADMONI -SCHIPPER plays Maria. She grew up in Haifa and has been living and working as actress in Switzerland for 14 years now. She worked with Julian in various projects, mostly for the stage. They are good friends, and Hagar has been the favourite cast for Maria in Julians head and heart, even before To the Sea has been brought to paper.

CARLOS LEAL lives in LA, but his family comes from Viveiro in Galicia where we shoot. One of the most amazing coincidences of this project. He is a internationally know actor (007-Casino Royal), and we are delighted he agreed to take on the role of Raphael, who is unhappily in love with Maria. http://www.imdb.com/name/nm1332454/

DAVID WUWARA is an internationally working film- and theatre actor, based in Vienna, We are proud and happy to have him on board! Everything about David and his work you find here: http://www.davidwurawa.com

NIKOLAUS SCHMID is a Swiss actor. He also worked together with Julian several times, but not yet as film actor. Finally we can make this desired collaboration come real. You can find infos about Nik and his work here: www.nikolaus-schmid.ch

JULIAN M. GRÜNTHAL- Script and director, works from his base in Zurich as director, actor and author for film and theatre, as cinematographer and photographer. After two feature films he codirected, To the Sea ia a big intimate project of his heart. He’s been working to realize it together with Judith and Guillermo for more than two years now. Infos about Julian and his work: www.juliangruenthal.com

JUDITH LICHTNECKERT - Producer, studied Anglistics, Media science and sociology at the university Basel. Since 2001 she works as freelance producer, assistant director, documentary- and featurefilm producer. 2013 she founded Emilia Productions GmbH. 2016 her directing debut RESET-RESTART (Doc) hit the Swiss theatres. Also Judith and Julian have worked together repeatedly, in two feature film projects that Julian codirected with Samuel Schwarz: Almost 10 years ago they realized the feature MARY&JOHNNY. Also in the context of the international feature POLDER, they continued their collaboration. Now TO THE SEA.

GUILLERMO VASQUEZ DIAZ – DOP Guille grew up in Galicia, right where we will shoot To the Sea. He graduated in Audiovisual Communication from the University of Santiago de Compostela. Also graduated from Prague Film School with specialization in Cinematography - together with Julian. Currently he is in his Master studies as cinematographer at the film school in Madrid.

And many more! For example: LILIANE OTT – Production manager, FABIO FERNANDEZ – Unit Manager, BERNIE ROSENFELD - 1st Assistant Director, BORJA CONDE - Production Assistant, MILKY DIAMOND - Crowdfunding, URSINA SCHMID – Costume, ISABELLE SIMMEN – Set Design, CARMEN TRIMANES – Props, DAVID CATA - Sculpture, MARIO LEMA, HUMBERTO FORERO - Gaffer&Light, MICHAEL SAUTER Sound Design&Music, ADRIAN PFISTERER, On set Sound Recordist, JANN ANDEREGG - Editor, TINO VAL - Boat Captain


FINANCING

The Swiss Federal Office of culture agreed to support TO THE SEA, the other public sposors unfortunately decided not to support us. But that doesn’t stop us. Our team and cast carry the production with enormous enthusiasm and by agreeing to work with great salary reductions. Whatever we can, we put into the film from our own pockets. Beginning of October we can start shooting in Galicia.

Picture b2e4d012 81aa 4b62 96f4 74988ab0331bPicture 7de52c0c 7337 4ea6 ba46 2e10cd391125Picture f92cc2aa 18f5 4f55 b8a0 6243b54eb886Picture b5e6a7e2 a5ee 470c a687 11e86efc19ffPicture cdb0498f 1e64 43cd aad1 861863c68422

TO THE SEA – DER FILM

To the Sea ist ein Film ohne Dialoge. Er spielt an einem stürmischen Ozean, der überall sein könnte. Es gibt nur die raue Landschaft, den Wind, die Musik, das Wasser, die Kamera und die Schauspieler. Wir erzählen Marias Geschichte: Maria hat vor Jahren ihren Mann ans Meer verloren. Seither lebt sie in ihrer eigenen abgeschotteten Welt. Doch eines Tages zieht sie ihren Mann wieder aus dem Meer, lebendig und genau so, wie er vor Jahren verschollen war. Und es beginnt eine Nacht, in der sie sich entscheiden muss, ob sie sich weiter der Realität verweigern kann oder einen Weg aus ihrer Trauer und Abschottung finden.

WARUM UNS DIE GESCHICHTE WICHTIG IST

Wir glauben daran, dass es wichtig ist, dass wir uns der Welt öffnen anstatt uns in der Illusion von Abschottung einzurichten. Dabei spielt die Kraft der Liebe - die auch zerstörerisch sein kann - eine grosse Rolle.  Marias psychische Abschottung spiegelt im Film die Abschottung der Welt, in der die Geschichte selbst spielt: Eine Küste, an der es selbstverständlich geworden ist, dass Leichen und Menschen angespült und entsorgt werden. Die Gesellschaft hat sich ebenso in der Abschottung eingerichtet wie Maria.   Doch plötzlich gerät diese Welt aus den Fugen. Maria wird gezwungen, ihre Einsamkeit aufzubrechen. Wie durch eine Lupe gerät sie in den Fokus des Schicksals und erinnert uns daran, was ein verlorenes Menschenleben wirklich bedeutet, vor allem für die, die zurückbleiben. Sie hat auf einmal die Möglichkeit, auszubrechen und ihre Welt wieder mit lebendigen Augen zu sehen.

Picture 9fd3f8de 1f69 4a90 9da1 1e5cce85a7f5Picture bdb13038 3356 499b 957a 4642961e4954Picture 8fd496c0 cf8b 4b7b a5d0 d3e63f90f938Picture 4964c51f 2a55 41a2 ab81 844a7754032dPicture 0bfe9514 156c 4ac2 85bb eb579b18e68ePicture 82d02193 c411 4c1a aa63 913badc9e36dPicture bc68ba29 a8cd 48f0 8d4c 97244532d97a

UNSER TEAM

HAGAR ADMONI-SCHIPPER spielt Maria. Aufgewachsen in Haifa, Israel, lebt und arbeitet sie mittlerweile seit 14 Jahren als Schauspielerin in der Schweiz. Sie hat schon oft mit Julian zusammengearbeitet, meistens für die Theaterbühne. Die beiden sind gute Freunde, und Hagar war für Julian bereits die Wunschbesetzung für Maria, noch bevor das Drehbuch niedergeschrieben wurde.

CARLOS LEAL lebt in LA. Doch seine familiären Wurzeln liegen in Viveiro, unserem Drehort. Einer der erstaunlichsten Zufälle dieses Projektes. Er ist international bekannter Schauspieler (007-Casino Royal…) und wir freuen uns, dass er zu unserem Ensemble gestossen ist und Raphael spielt, der unglücklich in Maria verliebt ist. http://www.imdb.com/name/nm1332454/

NIKOLAUS SCHMID ist ebenfalls Schauspieler in der Schweiz. Auch er hat schon diverse Male mit Julian zusammengearbeitet, jedoch noch nie als Filmschauspieler. Endlich wird dieser lang gehegte Plan Wirklichkeit. Infos über Nik’s Schaffen gibt es unter www.nikolaus-schmid.ch

DAVID WUWARA arbeitet international als Film- und Theaterschauspieler mit Basis in Wien. Wir freuen uns extrem, ihn für die Rolle des Mannes ins Boot holen zu können. Alle Infos über David und sein Schaffen gibt’s unter http://www.davidwurawa.com

JULIAN M. GRÜNTHAL – Drehbuch und Regie, arbeitet seit langem mit Basis in Zürich als Regisseur, Schauspieler und Autor für Theater und Film, als Kameramann und Fotograf. Nach zwei Feature-Coregien ist der Kurzfilm To the Sea ein grosses, intimes Herzensprojekt, an dessen Verwirklichung er zusammen mit Judith und Guillermo schon seit über zwei Jahren arbeitet. Infos über Julian gibt es unter www.juliangruenthal.com

GUILLERMO VAZQUEZ DIAZ – DOP, ist in Galizien aufgewachsen, genau dort, wo wir To the Sea drehen werden. Er studierte Audiovisuelle Kommunikation an der Universität Santiago de Compostela. Später studierte er -zusammen mit Julian- an der Prague Film School, Spezialisierung in Cinematografie. Aktuell macht er seinen Kameramaster an der Filmschule in Madrid.

JUDITH LICHTNECKERT - Produzentin, studierte Anglistik, Medienwissenschaften und Soziologie an der Uni Basel. Seit 2001 ist sie freischaffend als Produktionsleiterin, Regieassistentin und Producerin im Dokumentar- und Spielfilmbereich tätig. 2013 gründete sie die Emilia Productions GmbH. 2016 kam ihr Regiedebüt RESET-RESTART(Dok) in der Schweiz in die Kinos.

Auch Judith und Julian haben schon mehrfach zusammengearbeitet, im Rahmen von zwei Kinoproduktionen, bei denen Julian zusammen mit Samuel Schwarz Coregie führte: Fast zehn Jahre ist es her, dass Judith und Julian den Kinospielfilm MARY & JOHNNY aufgegleist und in der Folge auch umgesetzt haben. Auch bei POLDER haben sie die erfolgreiche Zusammenarbeit weitergeführt. Nun TO THE SEA.

Und noch viele mehr! Unter anderem: LILIANE OTT – Produktionsleitung, FABIO FERNANDEZ – Aufnahmeleitung, BERNIE ROSENFELD - Regieassistent, BORJA CONDE - Produktionsassistenz, MILKY DIAMOND - Crowdfunding, URSINA SCHMID – Kostümbild, ISABELLE SIMMEN – Szenenbild, CARMEN TRIMANES – Requisiten, DAVID CATA - Skulptur, MARIO LEMA, HUMBERTO FORERO - Licht, MICHAEL SAUTER Musik,Ton, ADRIAN PFISTERER, Set Ton, JANN ANDEREGG - Schnitt, TINO VAL - Kapitän


DIE FINANZIERUNG

Das Bundesamt für Kultur hat die Unterstützung für TO THE SEA zugesagt, die anderen Förderer setzten leider andere Prioritäten. Doch das hält uns nicht auf. Dafür tragen unser Team und die Schauspieler die Produktion mit viel Enthusiasmus und grossen Rückstellungen mit. Was wir können, stecken wir aus unseren eigenen Taschen auch in den Film. Anfang Oktober können wir in Galizien mit den Dreharbeiten starten. Doch die Postproduktion ist noch nicht fertigfinanziert. Damit wir nach dem Dreh den Film auch fertigstellen können, brauchen wir nun Euch: Für den Schnitt, Sounddesign, Komposition, Mastering, Colour Grading and VFX sind wir auf Eure Hilfe angewiesen und freuen uns sehr über jegliche Unterstützung !

Kommt mit uns auf die Reise und werdet ein Teil davon. Wir halten euch auf dem Laufenden via https://www.facebook.com/totheseathefilm/

Picture b2e4d012 81aa 4b62 96f4 74988ab0331bPicture 7de52c0c 7337 4ea6 ba46 2e10cd391125Picture f92cc2aa 18f5 4f55 b8a0 6243b54eb886Picture b5e6a7e2 a5ee 470c a687 11e86efc19ffPicture cdb0498f 1e64 43cd aad1 861863c68422