Picture 0c5a781f b375 4d84 bb64 8a5e3fad897f

What is it about?

In many countries authors are threatened, tortured or even killed. For these persecuted writers we would like to establish a writers-in-exile programme in Switzerland. Give us a boost!

At the time more than 800 authors are subject to governmental repression worldwide. This because they engaged themselves politically. Russia, Iran, Mexico, China, and Turkey are the countries most often mentioned. By establishing a writers-in-exile programme we would like to provide for people writing against social ills a place where they can temporarily find their peace.

There are already organisations which run such programmes. Numerous cities already offer shelter to persecuted writers. Together they establish an important international network. Switzerland isn’t a member of this network.

Picture 4d503b14 01ca 4ccd b36b d526c6cfa228 Picture 8c5fd820 93f7 4e65 ad83 26984c3b6330 Picture ebe93e7a e102 4463 bc26 773190d847ad Picture 7f5ddab3 4d0a 49a8 b77e f480ccd4dd83 Picture 21e4fef9 dff9 4363 a2ea 39c51f75a085 Picture 82abdde8 98b2 4b43 ae0c e4b6882b6019 Picture 0bd46837 3c55 46be 86d9 3c2f17be4294 Picture d1f1c84e e8a6 4248 9f91 0193b78b5083

What can we do?

  • We establish a «Writers-in-Exile» programme for Switzerland.
  • We can give a persecuted writer an apartment in Switzerland for the period of at least one year. Our guest is going to receive a scholarship covering his or her running costs.
  • We can support our stipendiaries in their daily problems and offer them the possibility to get to know the literary scene of Switzerland.
  • As an organisation we are going to join the international cities of refuge network, called ICORN, thus closing the existing gap.

Where do we stand?

ICORN already assured us its support. But our project has just started. How are we going to finance the scholarship? Where will the apartment be situated? What Swiss city will join in to become a city of refuge?

Also PEN international will back us up by delivering valuable data for the assessment process. The Case List which is published semi-annually is an important tool.

What can you do?

The Swiss German PEN centre usually works in an honorary capacity. A professional project development as it is intended for this project is beyond the means of the association. We have to do research work, we have to develop a convincing dossier, we have to find the funding, we have to write hundreds of letters and do even more interviews. The CHF 6’000 are used for this purpose. This is what we need your support for.

Give us a boost! Show us with your share that you think it’s time to do something for persecuted writers. Switzerland needs a writers-in-exile programme!

The initiators

Melinda Nadj Abonji, Adi Blum and Ulrike Ulrich are the initiators of this writers-in-exile programme for Switzerland. They work as a project group for the Swiss German PEN centre.

Picture 0c5a781f b375 4d84 bb64 8a5e3fad897f

Darum geht’s

In vielen Ländern werden Schriftsteller und Schriftstellerinnen verfolgt, gefoltert oder gar ermordet. Wir möchten in der Schweiz eine Wohnung für bedrohte Autoren und Autorinnen einrichten. Verhilf uns zu einem guten Start!

Weltweit sind zur Zeit über 800 Autoren und Autorinnen staatlichen Repressionen ausgesetzt, weil sie sich politisch oder zivilgesellschaftlich engagieren. Zu den meist genannten Ländern gehören Russland, Iran, Mexiko, China und auch die Türkei. Mit einem Writers-in-Exile Programm möchten wir dafür sorgen, dass Menschen, die gegen Missstände anschreiben, eine Zeit lang in Frieden leben und arbeiten können.

Bereits heute gibt es solche Programme. Bereits heute gewähren nicht wenige Städte verfolgten Schriftsteller und Schriftstellerinnen Zuflucht. Zusammen bilden diese Städte ein wichtiges internationales Netzwerk. Die Schweiz ist in diesem Netzwerk nicht vertreten.

Picture 4d503b14 01ca 4ccd b36b d526c6cfa228Picture 8c5fd820 93f7 4e65 ad83 26984c3b6330Picture ebe93e7a e102 4463 bc26 773190d847adPicture 7f5ddab3 4d0a 49a8 b77e f480ccd4dd83Picture 21e4fef9 dff9 4363 a2ea 39c51f75a085Picture 82abdde8 98b2 4b43 ae0c e4b6882b6019Picture 0bd46837 3c55 46be 86d9 3c2f17be4294Picture d1f1c84e e8a6 4248 9f91 0193b78b5083

Das können wir tun

  • Wir begründen ein «Writers-in-Exile» Programm für die Schweiz.
  • Wir stellen einem bedrohten Autoren oder einer bedrohten Autorin für den Zeitraum von mindestens einem Jahr in der Schweiz eine Wohnung zur Verfügung. Unser Gast erhält ein Stipendium für seine Lebensunterhaltskosten.
  • Wir helfen den Stipendiaten bei den vielfältigen Problemen des Alltags und bieten ihnen die Möglichkeit, die Schweiz und ihre Literaturszene kennen zu lernen.
  • Als Organisation schliessen wir uns dem bereits bestehenden internationale Städtenetzwerk ICORN an und schliessen so die Lücke.

Wo stehen wir?

ICORN hat uns seine Unterstützung bereits zugesagt. Aber wir stehen mit unserem Projekt noch ganz am Anfang. Wie werden wir das Stipendium finanzieren können? Wo soll die Wohnung gelegen sein? Welche Schweizer Stadt wird uns den Zuschlag geben und so zu einer Stadt der Zuflucht werden?

Auch der PEN international in London stützt uns den Rücken, indem er uns bei der Auswahl der Stipendiaten zur Seite steht. Die halbjährlich erscheinende Caselist ist hierzu ein wichtiges Werkzeug.

Das könnt ihr tun

Das DeutschSchweizer PEN Zentrum arbeitet in der Regel ehrenamtlich. Eine professionelle Projektentwicklung übersteigt die Mittel des Vereins. Es gilt zu recherchieren, Dossierarbeit zu leisten, Fundraising zu betreiben und Hunderte von Briefen zu schreiben und noch mehr Gespräche zu führen. Dafür werden die 6’000 Schweizer Franken eingesetzt. Dafür benötigen wir deine Unterstützung.

Verhilf uns zu einem guten Start! Zeig mit deinem Beitrag, dass auch du der Meinung bist, dass es an der Zeit ist, etwas für verfolgte Menschen zu tun. Zeig, dass die Schweiz ein solches Writers-in-Exile Programm braucht.

Die Initianten

Initianten eines Writers-in-Exile Programmes für die Schweiz sind Melinda Nadj Abonji, Adi Blum und Ulrike Ulrich. Sie arbeiten als Projektgruppe für das DeutschSchweizer PEN Zentrum.