Launching a Congolese rocket

For the past ten years, engineer Jean-Patrice Keka and his team have been designing and launching rockets with scant resources in Kinshasa, the capital of the Democratic Republic of Congo. Code name: Troposphère. Impressed by their applied scientific research capabilities, we want to help them launch the Troposphère 6 rocket by next spring.

Troposphère 6 is a 50 feet three-stage rocket. It will send a satellite called «Njiwa» to take pictures of the Earthn from an altitude of 200 km (120 mi). These images will be broadcast live back to the control centre.

The Troposphère project is technically feasible and highly symbolic. It brings hope and pride to the Congolese and stimulates the training of engineers in a country in great need. In the longer term, Keka Aerospace aims to be able to send satellites into space, and perhaps, one day, a first African astronaut.

Picture 78ec7ed0 195c 4385 a040 4d0b6a8958a4Picture a8c7488e eb43 48d1 aa9c 52f9fa4550c4Picture 97503472 ef68 4d62 b781 ec338ad0f7f9Picture bd88e560 3b13 468f b257 9934bbf1f453Picture e5f12bce 18dc 4224 96ce cc7d93244e2ePicture d7aca2bd 9235 4c7e 8fa5 bc54ea29d3b2Picture 937b2256 e007 49e2 998c 512378984261Picture 0cc5420a ca68 49af 94fb 65fab7e7b6b5Picture 31e15904 7f1a 47da a91a a58f680401fbPicture 79c8c723 502d 4c3e 8d1b 36f081d8dbb7

Keka's Swiss Friends

We are a small team of filmmakers from Lausanne in Switzerland who met Jean-Patrice Keka in the DRC, while making a documentary about his work. Despite the well-known problems experienced with their previous Troposphère 5 rocket, we discovered talented engineers, working alongside electricians, computer scientists and mechanics to devise inventive solutions from limited resources.

In 2015, we watched Keka’s team salvage a wrecked ship that had blocked a dock in Kinshasa for 23 years - Russian and Norwegian salvage teams had previously failed at this task, stymied by the strong currents in the Congo River.

The obstacle to the Troposphère 6 project is now financial. The funds we wish to raise will mainly be used to acquire expensive materials and to rent precision equipment to construct the fuselage of the rocket. They will also be used to purchase fuel. They will be entirely devoted to the Troposphère programme.

Due to the difficulties with Internet access, crowd funding is effectively impossible to set up from the DRC. That is why we administer it - and the management of donations themselves - from Switzerland, through a non-profit association established under Swiss law and dedicated to this launch and possible future projects.

Content

Five questions for Jean-Patrice Keka, engineer and project manager

  • Is a space programme in Congo really necessary?

You may think that a country such as the Democratic Republic of Congo has other priorities than a space programme. But we also need to project ourselves into the future. To show the young people of our country that it is possible to dream big projects, to put all our will into them. With each launch, hundreds of young Congolese choose to study science, and this know-how, this faith in the future is very important for our country.

  • How is it possible to build a rocket for 50’000 Swiss francs (37’000£/50’000$) ?

Our research focuses on the use of the resources available in our country. We move step by step, independently. We have developed a unique speciality in the use of recycled materials. The fuselages of the first rockets and the current test rockets are made of powdered milk tins, the electronic components are recovered from devices found in dumps; our rocket fuel is more or less handmade. Our relatively small team consists of about twenty people. We are moving step by step, without government assistance.

But you don’t remember Troposphère 4, which reached an altitude of 50’000 feet. Each rocket is a prototype and if we look at the history of the conquest of space, we do not have a monopoly on technical failure! One of the seven engines of Troposphère 5 failed due to damage sustained during transport to the firing point. We learned a great deal from this experience. It is precisely this challenge (to make high technology with recycled equipment) that makes the project so interesting. With this experiment we can improve our engineering knowledge in many other fields, like medicine, agriculture, communications, energy supplies.

  • How will this money be used?

It will finance certain parts of the rocket body requiring precision machines to make that we can only find in relatively expensive workshops here in Congo. We also need to invest in fairly expensive materials, notably to manufacture the rocket’s propellant (fuel). There is also much work to do in order to prepare the launch site. Finally, the funds will pay our electricians, mechanics and computer scientists.

  • When will Troposphère 6 be able to take off?

Today the design of the rocket is finished, the various scientific elements are also being finalised (N’dJiwa satellite, M’pongo capsule, various engines, cameras, etc.). If crowd funding is successful, the launch should take place between October 2018 and spring 2019.

Content

Nehmen Sie am kongolesischen Weltraumabenteuer teil!

Seit zehn Jahren entwickeln und starten die Ingenieure Jean-Patrice Keka und ihr Team von Keka Aerospace Raketen mit lächerlichen Mitteln in Menkao, in der Demokratischen Republik Kongo. Codename: Troposphere Programm. Beeindruckt von ihrer Entschlossenheit, ihrem Einfallsreichtum und ihren Fähigkeiten in der angewandten wissenschaftlichen Forschung hoffen wir, ihnen dabei zu helfen, die Rakete Troposphere 6 bis zum nächsten Frühjahr zu starten.

Troposphère 6 ist eine dreistöckige, 15 Meter hohe Rakete, die den Satelliten Njiwa auf 200 km Höhe schicken wird, um Fotos der Erde aufzunehmen, die direkt an das Kontrollzentrum in Menkao, 180 km von Kinshasa entfernt, übermittelt werden.

Das Projekt Troposphère 6 ist technisch realisierbar und höchst symbolisch. Es bringt Hoffnung und Stolz für die Kongolesen, und hilft die Ausbildung von Ingenieuren anzuspornen, die das Land dringend braucht. Auf einer weiteren Ebene möchte Keka Aerospace fähig werden, Satelliten und, wer weiss, eines Tages einen afrikanischen Astronauten auf die Umlaufbahn zu schicken.

Picture 78ec7ed0 195c 4385 a040 4d0b6a8958a4Picture a8c7488e eb43 48d1 aa9c 52f9fa4550c4Picture 97503472 ef68 4d62 b781 ec338ad0f7f9Picture bd88e560 3b13 468f b257 9934bbf1f453Picture e5f12bce 18dc 4224 96ce cc7d93244e2ePicture d7aca2bd 9235 4c7e 8fa5 bc54ea29d3b2Picture 937b2256 e007 49e2 998c 512378984261Picture 0cc5420a ca68 49af 94fb 65fab7e7b6b5Picture 31e15904 7f1a 47da a91a a58f680401fbPicture 79c8c723 502d 4c3e 8d1b 36f081d8dbb7

Die Freunde von Keka Schweiz

Wir sind ein kleines Team von Regisseuren aus Lausanne welches Jean-Patrice Keka im Rahmen einer Reportage über seine Arbeit kennengelernt hat. Trotz der Schwierigkeiten beim Start seiner Rakete Troposphère 5, haben wir eine Gruppe talentierter Ingenieure, Elektroniker, Informatiker und Mechaniker entdeckt, die mit lokalen Mitteln erfinderische Lösungen erreichen.

2015 waren wir dabei, als sie das Wrack eines Frachters, der seit 23 Jahren einen Teil des Hafens von Kinshasa blockierte, wegschafften. Eine technische Leistung die vorher Teams aus Norwegen und Russland wegen der starken Strömungen des Flusses Kongo nicht geschafft hatten.

Das grösste Hindernis für das Projekt Troposphère 6 ist finanzieller Art. Wir möchten vor allem Mittel für den Kauf von teurem Material und für die Miete von Präzisionsmaschinen für die maschinelle Fertigung des Rumpfes sammeln, sowie den Kauf von Treibstoff zu ermöglichen. Sämtliche Einnahmen werden exklusiv für dieses Projekt verwendet.

Wegen der Schwierigkeiten des Zugangs zum Internet, ist es praktisch unmöglich im Kongo eine Crowdfunding Kampagne zu machen. Deshalb verwalten wir, «Les amis de Keka Suisse» (Die Freunde von Keka Schweiz), ein nicht-lukrativer Verband nach schweizerischen Recht, alle Spenden und kontrollieren die Gegenleistungen des Projekts.

Content

5 Fragen an Jean-Patrice Keka, Ingenieur und Leiter des Projekts

  • Ist ein Raumschiffprogramm im Kongo überhaupt sinnvoll?

Natürlich kann man der Meinung sein, Kongo habe andere Prioritäten als ein Raumschiffprogramm. Aber wir müssen uns auch für die Zukunft vorbereiten! Wir möchten unserer Jugend zeigen, dass man mit grossem Willen auch grosse Träume verwirklichen kann. Bei jedem Start einer unserer Raketen entschliessen sich hunderte junger Kongolesen für ein wissenschaftliches Studium. Dieses Know-how und dieser Glauben an die Zukunft sind für unser Land äusserst wichtig.

  • Eine Rakete die 50’000.- Franken kostet: wie ist das möglich?

Unsere Forschung fokussiert sich darauf, mit den hier bestehenden Mitteln zu arbeiten. Wir haben ein einzigartiges Know-how in Sachen Recycling entwickelt. Der Rumpf der ersten Raketen, sowie derjenige der aktuellen Testrakete, wird aus Milchpuderboxen gebaut; die elektronischen Komponenten werden aus alten Geräten wiederverwertet, die wir auf Müllkippen finden. Der Raketentreibstoff Propergol wird von Hand gefertigt. Unser Team von ungefähr 20 Personen ist relativ klein. Ohne staatliche Hilfe gehen wir Schritt für Schritt vorwärts.

…und man hört viel weniger von Troposphère 4, die es bis auf eine Höhe von 15 km geschafft hat. Jede Rakete ist ein Prototyp, und wir sind in der internationalen Raumschiffforschung bei weitem nicht die einzigen, die technisches Versagen erlebt haben…Durch ein Transportproblem bis zur Startrampe kam es bei einem der sieben Motoren der Rakete Troposphère 5 zu einer Panne. Daraus haben wir viel gelernt. Mit Recyclingmaterial an neuen Technologien zu arbeiten, ist teilweise was unser Projekt so interessant macht und unser Wissen erweitert, sei es im Engineering, aber auch in der Landwirtschaft, Medizin der Landärzte, Kommunikation und Energieforschung.

  • Wie wird das Geld verwendet werden ?

Die Herstellung mancher Hauptbestandteile der Rakete benötigen Präzisionsmaschinen die man im Kongo kaum findet; auch die Herstellung von Propergol und die Vorbereitung der Startrampe sind teuer. Und last but not least wird das Geld uns erlauben, unser Team von Ingenieuren, Elektronikern, Mechanikern und Informatikern zu entlöhnen!

  • Wann könnte Troposphère 6 starten ?

Die Rakete ist heute voll konzipiert, die verschiedenen Teile (der Satellit Njiwa, das Raumschiff Mpongo, die verschiedenen Motoren, Kameras, usw) werden bald gebaut. Wenn das Crowdfunding funktioniert, kann die Rakete zwischen Oktober 2018 und Frühling 2019 starten.

Content