Festas Suramericanas

by Andreas Woyke

Wiener Neustadt

Festas Suramericanas & Braiding Chopin – two exciting CD-projects, one with explosive South American music, the other with Chopin and own compositions in a dramatic dialogue!

EUR 15’560

111% of EUR 13’900

"111 %"
This is how it worksä

The «all or nothing» principle applies: The project only receives the funds if the funding target is reached or exceeded.

64 backers

Successfully concluded on 4/6/2018

Festas Suramericanas & Braiding Chopin - two exciting piano solo Cd projects!

FESTAS SURAMERICANAS - as the linguistically (portuguese-spanish) mixed title does reveal, this CD with piano works by Heitor Villa Lobos and Alberto Ginastera leads us into Brazilian and Argentine sun! The album does unify eruptive wildness and fragile tenderness of this strongly folklore-influenced music to untamed joy of life that I want to carry out to the world!

BRAIDING CHOPIN may be considered as sequel to my solo debut album «Braiding Bach». Piano works by the polish romantic master are interacting with my own compositions. There are striking structural similarities with Chopin’s works and this all does lead to a dramaturgical artistic synthesis. Expressive and contemplative - and therefore another mirror of human soul!

Here is another video with recordings of a spontaneously set up concert in Cape Town, February 2018, sponsored by wonderful people as well (see credits)! South Africa and South America show many similarities in their mentality, especially their joy of life!

An Exceptional German in the middle of the Rainforest

This quote is taken from a short essay written by the renowned Brazilian composer Marcelo Nadruz about my Villa Lobos interpretations. Further on he states: «The performance was so impressive that I could feel the tonal colors of the pieces played. As if the pianist himself was able to bring to life the great Brazilian composer on stage!»

«Festas Suramericanas» does feature Villa Lobos’ «Rudepoêma» - a true dance on a vulcano! - and his exuberant suite «Ciclo Brasileiro». The strongly rhythmic «Danzas Argentinas» by Alberto Ginastera and his 1st piano sonata complete the album.

In «Braiding Chopin» five works by the great Polish composer (1st Ballade, 1st Scherzo, 1st Polonaise, Fantaisie-Impromptu and Mazurka op. 24,2) do alternate with my own jazz-influenced compositions. This puts Chopin’s works in a dramatically surprising new light - and apart from all stylistic difference it does show striking similarities of Chopin’s way of composing to jazz!

Project Title Photo: Monica Zorzanelli ©

This is what I need backing for.

This double feature was planned because of continuous request by my audiences worldwide. As you can imagine, a project like that does blow any private budget and therefore does require potent sponsorship. Therefore I invite you to become active part of this project by your financial support!

Each support at any amount is welcome! For further info: If desired, I will write a personal dedication on each «hand signed» CD!

Now here’s a listing of the expenses, including information about recording location and people involved:

  • recording: ARS-Produktion, www.ars-produktion.de (with a friendly discount for the double feature)
  • recording location and instrument: Performance hall of Bösendorfer piano manufactory in Wiener Neustadt on Bösendorfer 280VC, www.boesendorfer.com
  • piano tuning and -hosting: Johannes Mayer, www.klaviermayer.at
  • travel-, accommodation- and food expenses for everyone involved
  • booklet text «Festas»: Ana Beatriz Gaertner, Brasilia https://anagaertner.blogspot.com.br

The estimated amount of this project as mentioned does cover 70% of the total expenses - the remaining 30% will be covered by myself, as well as my expenses for the following cutting session in Germany.

Finally here’s some basic information concerning the project:

  • date of recording: May 21 until 26, 2018
  • intended release «Festas Suramericanas»: summer 2018
  • intended release «Braiding Chopin»: autumn/winter 2018 (approximately 2 or 3 months after Festas)

Any of your questions and suggestions concerning the whole project and the pledges are always welcome! I will answer them reliably in a short time.

Many thanks and best vibes!

Festas Suramericanas & Braiding Chopin - zwei spannende Klavier solo CD-Projekte!

FESTAS SURAMERICANAS - wie der sprachlich (portugiesisch-spanisch) gemischte Titel schon verrät, entführt uns diese CD mit Klaviermusik von Heitor Villa Lobos und Alberto Ginastera in die Sonne Brasiliens und Argentiniens! Das Album vereint eruptive Wildheit und filigrane Zartheit dieser stark folkloristisch-rhythmisch geprägten Musik zu ausgelassener Lebensfreude, die ich damit in die Welt tragen möchte!

BRAIDING CHOPIN lässt sich als Fortsetzung meines Solo-Debut-Albums «Braiding Bach» betrachten. Kompositionen des polnischen romantischen Klavier-Grossmeisters stehen in Interaktion mit meinen eigenen Kompositionen und bilden gemeinsam ein dramaturgisches Gesamtkunstwerk. Expressiv und kontemplativ - und somit ebenfalls ein Spiegel der menschlichen Seele!

Hier noch ein Video mit Mitschnitten eines Spontankonzerts im Februar 2018 in Kapstadt, welches ebenfalls von wunderbaren Menschen gesponsort wurde (siehe Abspann) - die südafrikanische Mentalität ist der Südamerikanischen in puncto Lebensfreude sehr verwandt!

Ein aussergewöhnlicher Deutscher mitten im Regenwald

Dieses Zitat entstammt einem kurzen Essay des renommierten brasilianischen Komponisten Marcelo Nadruz über meine Villa-Lobos-Interpretationen. Weiter schreibt er: «Die Performance war so beeindruckend, dass ich die Farben des Klangs der gespielten Werke fühlen konnte. Wie wenn der Pianist selbst in der Lage wäre, den grossen Komponisten auf der Bühne wieder zum Leben zu erwecken!»

«Festas Suramericanas» enthält neben Villa Lobos’ «Rudepoêma» - einem wahren Tanz auf dem Vulkan! - dessen quirligen Zyklus «Ciclo Brasileiro». Von Ginastera hören wir die ebenfalls stark rhythmisch geprägten 3 «Danzas Argentinas» sowie dessen erste Sonate.

In «Braiding Chopin» stelle ich fünf Kompositionen des polnischen Meisters (1. Ballade, 1. Scherzo, 1. Polonaise, Fantaisie-Impromptu und Mazurka op. 24,2) eigenen, jazzbeeinflussten Kompositionen abwechselnd gegenüber. Dies stellt Chopins Werke in dramaturgisch überraschend neues Licht - und zeigt bei allem stilistischen Gegensatz frappierende Ähnlichkeiten der Kompositionsweise Chopins zum Jazz auf!

Projekt-Titelphoto: Monica Zorzanelli ©

Picture 8ef62f66 5842 4ef8 a981 6d67ec3f208fPicture a7805b74 5aba 420f a334 504656ccde1fPicture 11eea835 9001 4582 b064 cb1e94a6c09dPicture 41654344 cfda 4ab0 922f ffdc69b2ca3fPicture 595c97b2 d23e 47c9 a876 34c733f3129ePicture 7feff798 bfb3 4d9f 8545 adde1d487072Picture 2f6cc590 4fc9 4208 8381 facaa4f63dd3Picture d1960e22 f671 41a8 8471 53123e14c104Picture df6ff8db 7899 44c9 ba4d 133906f849be

Dafür brauche ich Unterstützung

Diese aufgrund stetiger Nachfrage meiner weltweiten Zuhörerschaft geplante Doppelproduktion sprengt verständlicherweise jedes private Budget und benötigt potentes Sponsoring. Bevor ich zu den Details komme, lade ich Sie/Dich (ich bleibe einfachheitshalber in den Belohnungen beim unkomplizierteren ’Du’) ein, mit Deiner finanziellen Unterstützung aktiver Teil des Projekts zu werden!

Jede Unterstützung in jeder beliebigen Höhe ist willkommen! Kurz zur Erklärung: Auf jede «handsignierte» CD schreibe ich auf besonderen Wunsch auch eine persönliche Widmung!

Nun zu den Kostenfaktoren, inklusive aller Informationen bezüglich Aufnahmeort und aller involvierten Menschen:

  • Aufnahme, Fertigung und Layout: ARS-Produktion, www.ars-produktion.de (mit einem freundlichen Discount für die Doppelproduktion)
  • Aufnahmeort und Instrument: Performance Hall der Klavierwerkstatt in Wiener Neustadt auf Bösendorfer 280VC, www.boesendorfer.com
  • Klavierstimmung und Betreuung: Johannes Mayer, www.klaviermayer.at
  • Reise-, Unterbringungs- und Verpflegungskosten für alle Beteiligten
  • Booklet-Text «Festas»: Ana Beatriz Gaertner, Brasilia https://anagaertner.blogspot.com.br

Die Zielsumme dieses Projekts deckt 70% der Gesamtkosten - die restlichen 30% sowie meine Kosten für die anschliessende Cutting-Session in Deutschland übernehme ich selbst.

Zum Schluss noch einige Informationen zu den Produktionen selbst:

  • Aufnahmedatum: 21. bis 26. Mai 2018
  • geplante Veröffentlichung «Festas Suramericanas»: Sommer 2018
  • geplante Veröffentlichung «Braiding Chopin»: Herbst/Winter 2018 (ca 2 bis 3 Monate nach Festas)

Fragen und Anregungen Deinerseits zum gesamten Projekt und den Belohnungen nehme ich gerne entgegen und beantworte sie verlässlich zeitnah!

Herzlichen Dank und best vibes!