We are always talking about environmentally friendly textiles, about organic cotton, but we question the origin and safety of dyes much less. In reality, chemical textile dyes are very bad for the environment and our health. This project aims to improve the missing eco-friendly colours in the competitive textile industrial chain.

The Local Colours project is based on recycling vegetable remnants from the food industry. Every month, tons of fruit and vegetable peelings with potentially fantastic dyeing properties are sorted and then thrown away to make bio-ethanol. Local Colours reuses the residues coming from regional farms, processing factories and restaurants.

ZHAW (Zurich University of Applied Sciences) is interested in working with Local Colours and with an industrial partner, to research the possibilities of using these dyes on a larger scale. We will be partnering with the Swiss Centre for Research and Innovation to solve this challenge. The challenge now is to promote these dye possibilities on a larger scale.

Picture 546cc104 2f71 44de aa42 18687f3e92cd Picture 5f084966 f317 4479 ad88 951e7ef98f8d Picture b1a65c5a 4a45 47a4 9133 6bbbb957eb24 Picture e30011bd 66c1 4d89 90c2 1ecb57e73800 Picture 55f1ec1d 5b0f 4e33 be2b 702ef994df7f

One form, three colours

A silk square, in a choice of three colours, has been created especially for this campaign and exclusively for you. Opt for a golden yellow square, died with shallot peelings, a salmon-pink one made from avocado skins or for a bright blue one from red cabbage leaves. Treat yourself to an original silk square!

Picture 5e97a1ba 2411 48c8 821e 33b647a92cfa Picture e0c5535d e974 40b7 8efc fc665d1a7fae Picture ed947050 8043 439e 9698 8f8f758db142 Picture a463e5ab c195 49a7 8b45 6e465c53c75d Picture 4bd47db5 d684 42c6 91fa afccafb2a3d3 Picture a20007e2 1ae4 4b83 8750 2996424c7524 Picture b663f567 38f8 4fcc bd4f 27321540aa31

100% natural and local

This is a 100% natural product. No chemical products are used for this dyeing technique, neither to prepare the fabric or to fix the colour. These dye products are entirely biodegradable and the dyeing will be done at «Alchemilla», a protected workshop in the region of Bern.

Using local resources is fundamental to the project. If the local concept is successful here, then it could be established elsewhere. The funds raised through this campaign will finance this sustainable development which starts right here, where we live.

Why is your help so precious?

By supporting this project, you are taking part in the first local production of textiles dyed 100% naturally with vegetable peelings! By buying one of the «Carré de Soie», you are helping this concept of natural dyeing to become more concrete and accessible to the public. You are supporting activities in protected workshops, whose potential are often forgotten. Your contribution will cover the production costs. Moreover, you are supporting the scientific research and the development of a project on an industrial scale.

Participate in this eco-friendly campaign which encourages dialogue, generosity, and enthusiasm from each and every one of us.

These rewards could be yours!

Picture 18f6e86c 8787 48ac a742 67d34b9db2cc Picture 041bb873 99d2 41f3 900d 3f1229aa55d5 Picture c1d0a249 31ff 4db8 b418 bc0bc7ec0017 Picture 08647447 99cc 4684 ad9c 5c26d9a567d0 Picture cba89122 0f88 4e62 98f7 3ea6f8679d79 Picture 9a8c8817 7286 4357 8882 a261a84a1fed

Save the dates

On Tuesday 19th April in Zurich and Thursday 12th May in Lausanne, Local Colours will take part in the «wemakeit live at FREITAG». This is a crowdfunding-soirée where a selection of ecological project initiators will present their ongoing campaign in the FREITAG stores. Come and join the crowd!

Tele Züri Lifestyle’s report about the project

Wir sprechen immer von Öko-Textilien oder Bio-Baumwolle, die Herkunft der Farben dieser Textilien, wird jedoch selten hinterfragt. In Wirklichkeit sind chemische Textilfarbstoffe sehr schädlich für die Umwelt und für unsere Gesundheit. Ziel dieses Projektes ist es diese Lücke in der industriellen Textilproduktion zu schliessen.

Das Projekt Local Colours basiert auf der Wiedergewinnung von pflanzlichen Abfällen der regionalen Lebensmittelindustrie. Die äusseren Schichten und Schalen von Früchten und Gemüsen mit guten Färbeeigenschaften werden monatlich tonnenweise entfernt, getrennt und kompostiert. Local Colours verwendet diese Nahrungsmittelresten von Bauernhöfen, Restaurants oder landwirtschaftlichen Verarbeitungsbetrieben der Region und färbt damit Textilien.

Eine Vorgehensweise für eine wissenschaftliche Recherche ist mit einem Beitragsgesuch an der Zürcher Hochschule für angewandte Wissenschaften (ZHAW) deponiert und anvisiert. Die Herausforderung besteht jetzt darin, diese Färbemöglichkeiten im grösseren Massstab zu fördern.

Picture 546cc104 2f71 44de aa42 18687f3e92cdPicture 5f084966 f317 4479 ad88 951e7ef98f8dPicture b1a65c5a 4a45 47a4 9133 6bbbb957eb24Picture e30011bd 66c1 4d89 90c2 1ecb57e73800Picture 55f1ec1d 5b0f 4e33 be2b 702ef994df7f

Eine Form, drei Farben

Exklusive Seidentücher wurden für dich, für diese Kampagne, entworfen. In drei Farben, je nach Geschmack. Wähle ein Goldgelb aus Schalottenschalen, ein Lachsrosa aus Avocadoschalen oder ein Hellblau aus Rotkohlblätter. Sichere dir ab jetzt einen authentischen «Carré de Soie»!

Picture 5e97a1ba 2411 48c8 821e 33b647a92cfaPicture e0c5535d e974 40b7 8efc fc665d1a7faePicture ed947050 8043 439e 9698 8f8f758db142Picture a463e5ab c195 49a7 8b45 6e465c53c75dPicture 4bd47db5 d684 42c6 91fa afccafb2a3d3Picture a20007e2 1ae4 4b83 8750 2996424c7524Picture b663f567 38f8 4fcc bd4f 27321540aa31

100% natürlich und lokal

Es geht um einen 100% natürlichen Färbeprozess, der ganz ohne Chemikalien auskommt. Weder für die Vorbehandlung des Stoffs noch für die Fixierung der Farbe. Die Farbstoffe werden nur aus Lebensmittelabfällen gewonnen und die Färbung wird in der geschützten Wersktatt «Alchemilla» in der Region Bern durchgeführt.

Die lokale Verankerung ist ein Grundwert des Projekts. Wenn es hier funktioniert, würde es sich idealerweise auch anderswo als System mit eigenen umgebenden Ressourcen implantieren können. Das gesammelte Geld wird dieses Engagement für Nachhaltigkeit, das als Erstes hier bei uns startet, finanzieren.

Warum ist deine Hilfe so wertvoll?

Nimm an der ersten lokalen Produktion von Textilien, die 100% natürlich mit kompostierbaren Resten gefärbt wurden, teil! Mit deiner Unterstützung wirst du es diesem Projekt ermöglichen, sich durch eine limitierte Kollektion von Seidentüchern zu konkretisieren. Du förderst die wenig anerkannte Arbeit in geschützten Werkstätten. Dein Beitrag wird die Produktionskosten abdecken. Du unterstützt dazu auch die wissenschaftliche Recherche und die Fortsetzung des Projekts im industriellen Massstab.

Mach mit und werde Teil dieser ökologischen Kampagne, die auf dem Austausch, auf der Grosszügigkeit und auf dem Enthusiasmus von jedem und jeder basiert.

Diese Belohnungen könnten dir gehören

Picture 18f6e86c 8787 48ac a742 67d34b9db2ccPicture 041bb873 99d2 41f3 900d 3f1229aa55d5Picture c1d0a249 31ff 4db8 b418 bc0bc7ec0017Picture 08647447 99cc 4684 ad9c 5c26d9a567d0Picture cba89122 0f88 4e62 98f7 3ea6f8679d79Picture 9a8c8817 7286 4357 8882 a261a84a1fed

Save the dates

Am 19. April in Zürich und am 12. Mai in Lausanne, wird Local Colours bei «wemakeit live at FREITAG» teilnehmen, eine Crowdfunding-Soirée, bei der sich nachhaltige Projekte live in den FREITAG Stores präsentieren. Kommt zahlreich und neugierig, es wird mich sehr freuen, euch dort zu sehen!

Tele Züri’s Beitrag über das Projekt