Local craft beer and a tasting room

I brew. Since 2014 I’ve been exploring the wild realms of beer brewing. In January 2018 I was finally able to upgrade my hobby to a more serious hobby-on-the-way-to-fulltime-job. Family, friends and me built a new brewing room in Rhäzüns. Now I can brew batches of up to 220 litres by myself.

My goals for 2018 are:

  • to launch a small set of craft beers for the region (later all of Switzerland),
  • to create a strong brand for the Canton Graubünden,
  • to open a tasting room as a community place
  • to make local artisan work a bigger thing again
  • in the future: the harvest and cultivation of local yeast strains
Picture 3cfb61b4 698b 410b 9567 05821c372dbaPicture 7e1a2286 0702 4dbe 9e0a c98f60fb4fe9Picture 83a5f872 c733 4a0c be05 6809cc5d874a

"Special" beer doesn't make it special

I like to enjoy a good beer. I think, I’m not the only one. And handmade beer just tastes the best. Ravenhead beers are clearly set apart from the mass beer productions. They are craft beers to indulge in. Top fermentation beers. The best experience is to taste them from a proper beer tulip glass.

I’ve noticed a change in consumer behaviour, at least here in Graubünden. Soon there will be a Zero Waste Shop in Chur, more people are buying locally sourced goods and meat, artisanal work seems to be more in trend. With my brewery in Rhäzüns I want to join other pioneers in bringing local craftsmanship back to the masses. I’m also aiming to source all my ingredients locally.

And who likes to drink alone anyway? The planned tasting room will be a place for enjoyment, deceleration and (maybe) a plattform for the exchange of future visions.

For the fermentation to also be successful during hot summer days, the fermentation room needs to be air conditioned. My top fermentation beers like a fermentation temperature of 18–22 °C. It is also important, that the temperature doesn’t fluctuate. For this we want to install a proper air conditioning system.

Picture ba4ae506 6179 4409 aab9 0cee1cf3ffa5Picture 75720391 a9cb 4fca 8d26 a543d7fc2571Picture 5b554ab2 4d9b 49b5 b8d4 4ef69639ab16Picture c94f149e 994f 4d32 91e2 98f64c0d866dPicture 9ef51ec3 2dbf 4ac3 9867 be9b0d96d05e

This is what I need backing for.

My family has already invested quite substantially in the brewery: hygienic room, fermentation room with 2 x 240 liters fermentation tanks, a walk-in fridge, a 200 liter mash pot, a 300 liter cooking pot and an abundance of technical equipment.

What we are still missing is this:

  • Design and implementation of the tasting room, new lights, toilet renovation — CHF 5800.-
  • furniture of the tasting room (tables, chairs, bar) — CHF 3300.-
  • air conditioning for fermentation room — CHF 2800.-
  • dishwasher and installation — CHF 2100.-
  • Branding: brand strategy, Logos, label designs, printing materials, Website — CHF 2800.-
  • Printed Packaging (6 & 24 bottle carriers) — 4800.-
  • bottle labels and printed beer tulip glasses — CHF 2500.-
  • Online Marketing — CHF 1600.-
Picture 2e66aea5 4775 474c 8ae1 b622531d4c07Picture 59534641 768f 4181 8faf 869ac2d3e05fPicture d3dc84c3 d587 44e9 bbd0 e32373b30ec0

Lokales Craft Beer und ein Tasting Room

Ich braue. Seit 2014 erkunde ich leidenschaftlich das wilde Gefilde des Bierbrauens. Im Januar 2018 konnte ich endlich mein Hobby zu einem ernsteren Hobby-schon-fast-Richtung-Vollzeitjob ausbauen. Ein neuer Brauraum in Rhäzüns wurde eingerichtet. Braugänge von bis zu 220 Liter kann ich hier nun alleine umrühren und abfüllen.

Meine Ziele für 2018 sind:

  • ein kleines Sortiment an Craft Beers regional (später schweizweit) anzubieten,
  • eine starke Marke für die Region Graubünden aufzubauen,
  • einen Tasting Room in der Brauerei als Treffpunkt für Geniesser von nah und fern einzurichten,
  • die Aufmerksamkeit auf Handarbeit und lokale Kleinbetriebe zu lenken,
  • langfristig: die Zucht und Kultivierung von lokalen Hefestämmen durchzuführen.
Picture 3cfb61b4 698b 410b 9567 05821c372dbaPicture 7e1a2286 0702 4dbe 9e0a c98f60fb4fe9Picture 83a5f872 c733 4a0c be05 6809cc5d874a

Spezialbier alleine ist noch nicht Spezial

Ich trinke gerne Bier. Ich glaube, da ich bin nicht alleine. Und handgemachtes Bier schmeckt nun mal am besten. Das Ravenhead Bier soll sich klar von der Massenware abheben. Es sind Genussbiere. Obergärige Spezialbiere. Am besten trinkt man sie aus einem Biertulpenglas.

Ich habe bemerkt, dass sich das Konsumverhalten zumindest hier in Graubünden ändert. Bald gibt es einen Zero Waste Laden in Chur, mehr Leute kaufen lokal Gemüse und Fleisch ein, jegliche Handarbeit scheint vermehrt im Trend zu sein. Mit meiner Brauerei in Rhäzüns will ich einen weiteren Wegweiser für lokale Handarbeit sein. Ziel wäre auch, sämtliche Zutaten aus lokaler Herstellung zu verwenden.

Und wer trinkt schon gerne alleine? Der geplante Tasting Room soll Leute zusammenbringen und Platz für Genuss, Entschleunigung und (vielleicht) auch eine Plattform für Zukunftsvisionen werden.

Für die Gärung während heissen Sommertagen ist ein klimatisierter Raum essentiell. Bei meinen obergärigen Bieren liegt die optimale Gärtemperatur bei 18–22 °C. Wichtig dabei ist auch, dass die Temperatur nicht schwankt. Hierfür wollen wir den Gärraum mit einer Klimaanlage versehen.

Picture ba4ae506 6179 4409 aab9 0cee1cf3ffa5Picture 75720391 a9cb 4fca 8d26 a543d7fc2571Picture 5b554ab2 4d9b 49b5 b8d4 4ef69639ab16Picture c94f149e 994f 4d32 91e2 98f64c0d866dPicture 9ef51ec3 2dbf 4ac3 9867 be9b0d96d05e

Wohin des Geldes?

Meine Familie hat bereits einiges in die neue Brauerei investiert: hygienekonformer Raum, Gärraum mit 2 x 240 Liter Gärtanks, begehbarer Kühlraum, einen 200 Liter Maischetopf und einen 300 Liter Kochtopf und viel technisches Equipment.

Was nun noch fehlt ist folgendes:

  • Gestaltung und Umsetzung des Tasting Rooms, neue Lichter, WC-Sanierung — CHF 5800.-
  • Möblierung Tasting Room (Tische, Stühle, Bar) — CHF 3300.-
  • Klimagerät und Installation für Gärraum — CHF 2800.-
  • Gastrogeschirrspühler & Installation — CHF 2100.-
  • Branding: Markenstrategie, Logos, Etikettendesign, Druckmaterialien, Website — CHF 2800.-
  • Verpackungsmaterial, bedruckt (6er & 24er Kartoneinheiten) — 4800.-
  • Flaschenetiketten & Logogläser — CHF 2500.-
  • Online Marketing — CHF 1600.-
Picture 2e66aea5 4775 474c 8ae1 b622531d4c07Picture 59534641 768f 4181 8faf 869ac2d3e05fPicture d3dc84c3 d587 44e9 bbd0 e32373b30ec0