What our project is about:

We are an Austrian-based recorder consort, Ensemble Ancor, and have until now focused on the interpretation of Renaissance music.

Now we would like to start a concert project in which the music of the Renaissance is linked to the music of the Middle Ages in order to reveal the uniqueness as well as similarity of both styles and to show the continuity between them.

The homogenous sound of a recorder consort was very much appreciated in the Renaissance. Not so much in the Middle Ages – back then a combination of instruments which all sound very different from each other was sought after. The performance of medieval music would therefore require wind instruments, keyboard instruments as well bowed and plucked string instruments all being played at the same time. Those are for example the clavicymbalum (an early model of the harpsichord), the organetto (a very small organ), the vielle (a fiddle), and the medieval harp.

The instruments listed above could all be played by members of Ensemble Ancor as some of us have also studied or are still studying instruments which are similar to those just mentioned. These are the harpsichord, the viol and the harp. Furthermore we have taken part in university courses and masterclasses, where we could gain significant insights into medieval performance practise.

Picture e2817cd4 b02b 4584 be95 c6db3c791d0aPicture 8a21858e fbf8 4088 aaac 0f1fb15c4c46Picture 5565e796 0444 49a4 bebb 119d0a141fb5Picture b8f6811d fa5c 4da1 bf8f 95a2478b200dPicture f24b098c 0e24 4f2d 92ab 2ecc2200a7e5Picture 059869eb 672c 4484 842a 5565c9d27ec8Picture 91229cb6 516b 457f 981c 7458006eb621Picture 1369c5e2 41ae 4f24 8583 c1c9b3164be1Picture 4786c56d 598b 4df5 991c faa160772e5cPicture 04f22d09 931e 48dd 8c53 dc6796708433Picture 1a7a2ea4 f209 42dd b6e7 93ec1a4b78b2

Why we need your support:

The reconstruction of medieval instruments by specialised instrument makers and the research on historical instrument types and performance practise still has to be funded.

We are already travelling through France, Spain, Austria and England in order to discuss the various possibilities of reconstructing medieval instruments with different instrument makers. As there are no extant instruments of the instrument types we would like to play on, we are completely dependent on studying paintings and manuscripts.

The instruments which we would like to have built on the basis of our research will constitute unique items, whose construction and sound quality may enrich and enlighten the current research on medieval performance practise.

However, the research on the reconstruction of medieval instruments and the commissioning of new instruments from specialized instrument makers is very expensive and has to be funded. We would like to sincerely thank you for your support!

Klänge der Renaissance und des Mittelalters

Wir – das österreichische Blockflötenquintett Ensemble Ancor – sind seit einigen Jahren auf die Interpretation des Repertoires der Renaissance spezialisiert.

Nun möchten wir ein Konzertprojekt starten, in dem die Musik der Renaissance mit der des Mittelalters in Verbindung gebracht wird, und so beide Stile in ihrer Einzigartigkeit nebeneinander erklingen können.

Anders als in der Musik der Renaissance, bei der der homogene Klang eines Blockflötenensembles gesucht und geliebt wurde, scheint im Mittelalter die Verwendung von verschiedensten, klanglich stark kontrastierenden Instrumenten bevorzugt gewesen zu sein. Das sind neben der Blockflöte unter anderem das Clavicymbalum (eine frühe Form des Cembalos), das Organetto (eine sehr kleine Orgel), die Vielle (Fiedel) und die mittelalterliche Harfe.

Diese Instrumente könnten von Mitgliedern des Ensemble Ancor gespielt werden, da manche von uns bereits Studien verwandter Instrumente begonnen, bzw. abgeschlossen haben (das sind Harfe, Cembalo und Viola da Gamba). Außerdem konnten wir auf Kursen und in entsprechenden Lehrveranstaltungen wichtige Impulse zur mittelalterlichen Spielpraxis bekommen.

Picture e2817cd4 b02b 4584 be95 c6db3c791d0aPicture 8a21858e fbf8 4088 aaac 0f1fb15c4c46Picture 5565e796 0444 49a4 bebb 119d0a141fb5Picture b8f6811d fa5c 4da1 bf8f 95a2478b200dPicture f24b098c 0e24 4f2d 92ab 2ecc2200a7e5Picture 059869eb 672c 4484 842a 5565c9d27ec8Picture 91229cb6 516b 457f 981c 7458006eb621Picture 1369c5e2 41ae 4f24 8583 c1c9b3164be1Picture 4786c56d 598b 4df5 991c faa160772e5cPicture 04f22d09 931e 48dd 8c53 dc6796708433Picture 1a7a2ea4 f209 42dd b6e7 93ec1a4b78b2

Dafür brauchen wir deine Unterstützung:

Die Anschaffung von Nachbauten mittelalterlicher Instrumente, die Zusammenarbeit mit InstrumentenbauerInnen und die weitere Recherchearbeit zum historischen Instrumentarium und zur Spielpraxis müssen erst finanziert werden.

Wir sind bereits in Frankreich, Spanien, Österreich und England unterwegs um mit InstrumentenbauerInnen über die erhaltenen Quellen zur mittelalterlichen Instrumentalpraxis zu sprechen. Da es von den von uns gewünschten Instrumenten keine erhaltenen Originale gibt, sind wir bei der Rekonstruktion lediglich auf Gemälde und schriftliche Dokumente angewiesen.

Die Zusammenarbeit zwischen uns und den InstrumentenbauerInnen und die anschließende Herstellung der neuen Instrumente ist sehr teuer und muss erst finanziert werden. Wir sind daher für jede auch noch so kleine Unterstützung dankbar!