The Nice Magazine - Junges kollaboratives Storytelling aus Katlehong, Südafrika

Wir sind zurück mit einer neuen Ausgabe des Nice Magazine! Nach den zwei früheren erfolgreichen Ausgaben aus Pemba, Mosambik (2016) und Abidjan, Côte d’Ivoire (2018), teilt diese dritte Ausgabe von Nice, die Stimmen und Perspektiven von Jungkreativen aus Katlehong, einem Township im Osten von Johannesburg in Südafrika. Die Mitwirkenden reflektieren über verschiedene Formen der urbanen Straßenkultur, Medien und Mode und teilen ihre Gedanken über Arbeitslosigkeit, Drogen und informelle Ökonomien, über Erbe, Identität und Migration.

Diese dritte Ausgabe erscheint in einem neuen Design und bietet einen einzigartigen und zum Nachdenken anregenden Einblick in den Alltag bestimmter Lebensräume im Township Katlehong. Die kreativen Arbeiten unserer jungen Mitwirkenden unterstreichen die Vernetzung von Geschichte, Politik, Stile, Kulturproduktionen, Bildsprachen und Identifikationen, die die städtischen Räume, in denen sie leben, auszeichnen.

Picture ff6af117 e479 4f0f b677 b984233bdbabPicture c4772242 5f86 45c7 8ea5 2e297f2d5437Picture ea947eae 0ed0 4472 b134 178e8922dfe6Picture 40d00591 8eeb 4de2 a1ef fc653df75026Picture 122da00e 64d5 4bf4 9167 a1e3cff22bcePicture 206a6ec2 a348 45d4 9be0 a6c0a539fe52Picture c744a252 21b9 4a67 b8b7 356928eed736Picture 0be7325b 2677 4381 9bd7 ac8bfe443ad3Picture e47dac24 e395 442e b58b 446b72aae10bPicture 27c4ff9a ca09 4f96 b4ec 9c9627bef34aPicture ae4c3a3e 1cdf 40ab bc42 46aa74fa95e8Picture e7df6811 ba48 4595 a19b 3285ae3b3fba

Das Besondere an unserem Projekt...

Zwischen Vergangenheit und Zukunft, analog und digital, teilt und unterstützt Nice die Stimme junger Afrikaner von Stadt zu Stadt.

Der Inhalt und das Gesamtbild von Nice wurden im Rahmen einer Zusammenarbeit zwischen den jungen Mitwirkenden in Südafrika und Klaym, einem kreativen Kollektiv, das von der in der Elfenbeinküste geborenen Schweizer Fotografin Flurina Rothenberger gegründet wurde, entwickelt. In verschiedenen Workshops tauschten sich die jungen Teilnehmer aus Katlehong über technische Aspekte der Fotografie, des Storytellings, des Schreibens, der Drucktechnik und der Zine-Produktion etc. aus. Sie alle haben sich ein Know-how angeeignet, das ihre individuelle Karriere fördert.

Picture 136258bc ee6f 4b64 b9d0 94e4e03d13c5Picture 32b0e5ac 6f83 477f 91ec 173055892f0cPicture f9ad89d9 8e8f 4aa1 9990 259b1d7d63ebPicture 6cb9e5c1 5508 49b6 823e f130c41e48f1Picture 21e08c39 12f0 424b ad24 f97e01cd8872Picture b1b1813a 5f93 42e0 8934 6693742825baPicture 9a43d015 246b 4252 8a79 e120a5e062bePicture 098a311a cfe2 4c09 a078 c07eb9d41648Picture b351f19a fb27 410c 82c3 215ab845c58fPicture 9b679f11 a140 47c2 9b96 d0cf30f15841Picture f04a96ce 493e 455d 8af5 b82ba6e17167Picture 5ec33d62 2de2 4c8b 930c e8a10ebff62d

Dafür brauchen wir Unterstützung...

Als Team und in enger Zusammenarbeit arbeiten wir seit einem Jahr unermüdlich daran, diese tollen Inhalte zusammenzustellen, zu bearbeiten und zu gestalten. Jetzt ist das Magazin druckfertig! Aber uns fehlen die Mittel, wir brauchen eure Unterstützung in diesem letzten Schritt, um diese erstaunlichen Geschichten unserer jungen Mitwirkenden aus Katlehong zu Papier zu bringen und weltweit zu verbreiten. Mit eurer großzügigen Unterstützung erscheint diese Ausgabe des Nice Magazine Anfangs Oktober 2019 und wird an euch und den Rest der Welt verschickt.
Ngiyabonga! Vielen Dank von eurem Nice Team in Katlehong und Zürich.

The Nice Magazine - Young Collaborative Storytelling from Katlehong, South Africa

We are back with a new issue of Nice Magazine! Following the previous successful editions from Pemba, Mozambique (2016) and Abidjan, Côte d’Ivoire (2018), this third Nice issue features young creatives from Katlehong, a township in the east of Johannesburg in South Africa. Contributing creatives reflect on different forms of urban street culture, media and fashion and share their thoughts on unemployment, drugs and informal economies, on heritage, identity and migration.

The publication comes in a new design and offers a unique and thought-provoking glimpse at everyday life within particular spaces of the township Katlehong. The creative work of our young contributors highlight the webs of histories, politics, styles, cultural productions, aesthetic vocabularies and identifications that distinguish the urban spaces in which they live.

Picture ff6af117 e479 4f0f b677 b984233bdbabPicture c4772242 5f86 45c7 8ea5 2e297f2d5437Picture ea947eae 0ed0 4472 b134 178e8922dfe6Picture 40d00591 8eeb 4de2 a1ef fc653df75026Picture 122da00e 64d5 4bf4 9167 a1e3cff22bcePicture 206a6ec2 a348 45d4 9be0 a6c0a539fe52Picture c744a252 21b9 4a67 b8b7 356928eed736Picture 0be7325b 2677 4381 9bd7 ac8bfe443ad3Picture e47dac24 e395 442e b58b 446b72aae10bPicture 27c4ff9a ca09 4f96 b4ec 9c9627bef34aPicture ae4c3a3e 1cdf 40ab bc42 46aa74fa95e8Picture e7df6811 ba48 4595 a19b 3285ae3b3fba

Our project is special because ...

Between past and future, analogue and digital, Nice shares and supports the voice of young Africans from city to city.

Content and the overall appearance of Nice have been developed as part of a collaborative effort between the contributors in South Africa and Klaym, a creative collective co-founded by Côte d’Ivoire-raised Swiss photographer, Flurina Rothenberger. In different workshops the young participants from Katlehong exchanged about technical aspects of photography, storytelling, creative writing, printing techniques, zine production etc.. They all gained know-how that will further their individual careers.

Picture 136258bc ee6f 4b64 b9d0 94e4e03d13c5Picture 32b0e5ac 6f83 477f 91ec 173055892f0cPicture f9ad89d9 8e8f 4aa1 9990 259b1d7d63ebPicture 6cb9e5c1 5508 49b6 823e f130c41e48f1Picture 21e08c39 12f0 424b ad24 f97e01cd8872Picture b1b1813a 5f93 42e0 8934 6693742825baPicture 9a43d015 246b 4252 8a79 e120a5e062bePicture 098a311a cfe2 4c09 a078 c07eb9d41648Picture b351f19a fb27 410c 82c3 215ab845c58fPicture 9b679f11 a140 47c2 9b96 d0cf30f15841Picture f04a96ce 493e 455d 8af5 b82ba6e17167Picture 5ec33d62 2de2 4c8b 930c e8a10ebff62d

This is what we need backing for...

As a team and in tight collaboration with one another we have worked tirelessly for a year to put this amazing content together, edit and design it. Now the magazine is ready for print! We need your support in this final step of putting these amazing stories of our contributors from Katlehong on paper and distributing them over the globe. With your generous backing this issue of Nice Magazine can be released starting October 2019 and will be shipped to you and the rest of the world.
Ngiyabonga! Thank You from your Nice team in Katlehong and Zurich.