Project prfile

This CD project features the nearly forgotten composer Jacob Kirkman (1746-1812) and a unique but much-neglected musical genre, the keyboard repertoire with violin accompaniment. It is one of the last recordings made at the magical setting of Finchcocks Musical Museum before its closure. To my knowledge, the selected repertoire has not been recorded before.

Who is involved in this project?

The «main actors» are a double manual harpsichord, built in 1756 by the composer’s uncle (!), and a 1795 Broadwood square piano. People involved in the project, apart from me as the project initiator, are:

The music

Comprising solo harpsichord and square piano pieces as well as duo repertoire, the recording presents four different sound combinations for the listener to explore. The music is charming, entertaining, sometimes utterly virtuosic, sometimes as simple as a children’s tune. It has been a pleasure to play and record the pieces, and we got a lot of positive encouragement from our concert audiences. More information about Jacob Kirkman can be found in my article «Jacob Kirkman: portrait of a little known composer», published in the British Harpsichord Society’s online magazine Sounding Board in August 2016.

Why support this project?

If you are in favour of exploring things slightly off the beaten track, this project is for you. You are offered the chance to discover unknown repertoire and to play an important role in the process of creating something unique. With your generous support you will not only help preserve a valuable legacy of English 18th century culture, but also help me take another step forward in my career as a professional harpsichordist. There is a range of attractive rewards for you to choose from.

About me

I am a professional harpsichord player from Germany. Having lived in the UK for nearly six years, the Kirkman production is part of my engagement with the vibrant musical past of my host country. I have worked with the London-based Dutch-French violinist Nicolette Moonen since 2012. It is a suitable coincidence that the composer Kirkman was an immigrant, too!

Financing the production

The costs for the production amount to € 10.500 in total. Expenses include:

  • hire of the venue and the instruments
  • hire of technical equipment
  • tuning of the instruments
  • producing/sound engineering
  • photography
  • travel expenses and accommodation
  • CD cover and booklet design
  • production of a promotional video and last but not least
  • print and press of 2000 CDs.

€ 3.500 have already been spent on the production; these costs have been partly covered by a CD subscription scheme which has helped to raise € 850. I am extremely grateful to my subscribers!

With this campaign, I hope to raise € 7000 for the outstanding costs. Anything that exceeds this target will go towards the considerable expenses of € 2150 that I already have incurred.

My previous album

My first CD with works by the French composer Jacques Duphly (Coviello Classics, 2014, with Nicolette Moonen, violin) was awarded «5 de Diapason» by the French classical music magazine Diapason. To listen to a sound sample or buy the CD please visit the Hyphen Press website.

Further ways to support me

Other than by purchasing a reward or by donating, you can support me by sharing this campaign on social media. You may also consider registering as a fan on my HELLO STAGE profile. Hello Stage fans of mine receive a monthly newsletter about my concerts and activities via email. The service is free of charge. Every single fan means a lot to me!

Das Projekt

Dieses CD-Projekt ist dem in Vergessenheit geratenen Komponisten Jacob Kirkman (1746-1812) gewidmet! Außerdem geht es um ein einzigartiges, aber heutzutage weitgehend unbeachtetes musikalisches Genre, die Musik für ein Tasteninstrument mit Begleitung durch eine Violine. Die Aufnahme gehört zu den letzten, die im bezaubernden Ambiente von Finchcocks Musical Museum vor dessen Schließung entstanden. Ich freue mich, mit dieser Ersteinspielung zugleich einen Beitrag zum Andenken an das Museum leisten zu können.

Wer sind die Mitwirkenden?

Die «Hauptdarsteller» sind ein zweimanualiges Cembalo aus dem Jahre 1756, gebaut vom Onkel des Komponisten(!), und ein 1795 gebautes Tafelklavier der Firma Broadwood. Die beiden charaktervollen Instrumente wurden von mir, der Projektinitiatorin, ausgewählt und gespielt. Weitere Mitwirkende sind:

Picture 46b47484 efd2 4ee3 8c05 b66ad075fa65 Picture c59a0a33 967e 4e11 8ffe 3c7a0df038af Picture 62899086 39e3 4e48 b00b 2fc040fb5152 Picture a6d5fb69 1b3c 45da 8811 d3a61b9a2650 Picture 25fcd43d f18f 4a52 bd44 6a70505bad9b Picture 3f7555bc 27b9 4398 841b 0407964c2980

Die Musik

Vier verschiedene Klangkombinationen gibt es auf der CD zu entdecken: beide Tasteninstrumente erklingen jeweils solistisch und mit Violinbegleitung. Wer mehr über den Komponisten und seine unterhaltsame Musik voller Spielfreude erfahren möchte, dem sei mein Artikel «Jacob Kirkman: portrait of a little known composer» (in englischer Sprache), veröffentlicht im August 2016 in der Online-Zeitschrift Sounding Board der British Harpsichord Society, empfohlen.

Was macht dieses Projekt unterstützungswert?

Fernab ausgetretener Pfade bewegt sich dieses wunderbare CD-Projekt. Als Unterstützer betrittst auch Du neues Terrain und kannst Dir unbekanntes Repertoire erschließen, das mit Deiner Hilfe wiederbelebt wird. Du spielst eine bedeutende Rolle im Entstehungsprozess von etwas Einzigartigem, was zugleich ein wertvolles Dokument englischer Musikkultur des 18. Jahrhunderts sowie ein Meilenstein in meinem persönlichen künstlerischen Werdegang ist. Allen Förderern winken ein paar ganz besondere Belohnungen.

Picture 5fbae4c1 75ca 4d65 86a1 b84108d38ea8 Picture e5f3ab6e a32d 496f 87fa 57e8de06b873 Picture 298480f1 aa45 44c1 8c2a 2bca3071dac8 Picture 5d2a0415 a46b 4ce2 b479 3cbb2280eb36

Über mich

Ich bin eine Cembalistin aus Deutschland. Seit fast sechs Jahren lebe ich in England. Das Kirkman-Projekt ist Teil meiner Beschäftigung mit der reichen musikalischen Vergangenheit meines Gastlandes. Mit der in London lebenden holländisch-französischen Geigerin Nicolette Moonen arbeite ich seit 2012 zusammen. Es ist ein bemerkenswerter Zufall, dass der Komponist Kirkman auch ein Einwanderer war!

Picture d7366c26 6e7b 4f50 970a 28e7daeb29c6

Die Finanzierung der Produktion

Die Gesamtkosten der Produktion betragen EUR 10.500. Die Ausgaben beinhalten:

  • Miete für das Museum und die Instrumente
  • Leihgebühr für das Aufnahme-Equipment
  • Stimmung der Tasteninstrumente
  • Kosten für Aufnahmeleitung und Herstellung eines Mastertapes
  • Honorar für den Photographen
  • Reise- und Übernachtungskosten
  • CD-Cover und –Booklet-Design
  • Herstellung eines Video-Trailers
  • Druckkosten bzw. Pressen von 2000 CDs

Eine Summe von EUR 3.500 ist bereits in die Produktion geflossen; diese Ausgaben wurden teilweise durch CD-Subskriptionen finanziert, welche EUR 850 einbrachten. All meinen Subskribenten bin ich ausnehmend dankbar!

Mit Hilfe dieser Kampagne hoffe ich, weitere EUR 7000 für die noch ausstehenden Kosten zusammen zu bekommen. Bei Übertreffen dieses Ziels greift mein erweitertes Ziel: zusätzlich die Produktionskosten zu decken, die bereits beglichen wurden!

Meine erste CD

Meine erste CD mit Werken des französischen Komponisten Jacques Duphly (Coviello Classics, 2014, ebenfalls mit Nicolette Moonen) wurde mit «5 de Diapason» ausgezeichnet. Die CD kann über Hyphen Press erworben werden. Dort befindet sich auch ein Klangbeispiel zum Reinhören.

Picture d5691815 3d8b 4b9e b352 0fd10b1a7ae3

Was du weiter für mich tun kannst...

Bitte hilf mit bei der Verbreitung dieser Crowdfunding Kampagne über Deine sozialen Netzwerke! Außerdem kannst Du mich unterstützen, indem Du Dich als Fan auf meiner Hello Stage Website registrieren läßt. Hello Stage Fans erhalten kostenlos einen monatlichen Newsletter. Jeder einzelne Fan bedeutet mir eine Menge!