This is what it's all about.

John Bowlby’s attachment theory tells us that our parents have a major influence on our emotions and how we form relationships later in life.

Through experiments I want to find out how emotions and personal attachments influence peoples’ behavior, especially the behavior of entrepreneurs and managers. Are some people more innovative and creative because of their emotions and personal relationships? Or do they hinder creativity?

The New York Times has written some very interesting articles on the topic of attachment:

  • Yes, It’s Your Parents’ Fault
  • Our Elites Still Don’t Get It

You can find the links to the articles at the bottom of this page.

This is why I need your support.

The funds from this campaign will be used to recruit and compensate participants in the experiments. It can be very hard (especially as a PhD student) to get funding of that amount for scientific projects, which is why I highly appreciate your support. I am also grateful that platforms such as wemakeit exist to support these types of projects.

Quick facts:

  • I plan to do 3 experiments with 120-140 participants in each of the experiments.
  • Each participant receives up to 40 CHF, depending on his performance in the game.
  • Participants (BA, MA and MBA students) will be recruited from the University of St.Gallen.
Content

Why should you care?

Experiments are not commonly done in management research because they are quite time-intensive and costly. With your help, we will be able to get some fascinating new insights on the connection between emotions, relationships and innovation!

What does such an experiment look like?

Participants will first need to respond to some personal questions that help me to assess their emotional capabilities and attachment. Then the fun begins: they play a game! Participants play the Top Manager of a company and need to make some crucial investment decisions. In the end, they will find out whether their investments were worth it, or not. Pssst… the rest is a secret (for now) ;-)

If you want to know more about the results of these experiments, please support this project! Every Swiss franc or euro will be doubled by the Gebert Rüf Foundation.

Below you can see some of the benefits you could receive for your generous support.

Picture 9fe12afd bcae 4ab4 b583 dd5096dec033Picture f2ceddf6 0fbf 497d 9250 6b9e156ce930Picture 8721c64b 090d 49ea aef9 cd5a5edaa528Picture 99236520 2c51 423f 8623 6cd4e7a437ffPicture 364caf52 422a 42a1 9525 9dcddc633ff5Picture a4410789 e670 4e25 acf4 f07264fe45fdPicture b8c7c3d5 9023 4115 a95e 25aa2467c0d2Picture 75bf4475 3453 47da 8e29 3164ecac69da

Darum geht’s

Laut der Bindungstheorie von Bowlby hat die Erziehung unserer Eltern einen massgeblichen Einfluss auf unsere Emotionen und darauf, wie wir im späteren Leben Beziehungen knüpfen.

Im Rahmen von Experimenten möchte ich herausfinden, wie sich Emotionen und persönliche Bindungen auf das Verhalten von Menschen auswirken, insbesondere das Verhalten von Start-up Gründern und Managern. Sind manche Menschen innovativer und kreativer aufgrund Ihrer Emotionen und persönlichen Beziehungserfahrungen? Oder werden sie dadurch in ihrer Kreativität und ihrem Innovationsvermögen gehindert?

Die New York Times hat bereits spannende Artikel zur Bindungstheorie veröffentlicht:

  • Yes, It’s Your Parents’ Fault
  • Our Elites Still Don’t Get It

Die Links zu den Artikeln findest du ganz unten.

Dafür brauche ich Unterstützung

Die Projektgelder werden ausschliesslich für die Rekrutierung und Bezahlung von Teilnehmern an Experimenten verwendet. Leider ist es oftmals sehr schwer (besonders als Doktorand/in) finanzielle Unterstützung in dieser Höhe für wissenschaftliche Projekte zu bekommen - daher bin ich auf deine Hilfe angewiesen und dankbar, dass es eine Plattform wie wemakeit gibt, die solche Projekte unterstützt.

Im Detail:

  • Es werden 3 Experimente mit je ca. 120-140 Teilnehmern durchgeführt.
  • Jeder Teilnehmer erhält für seinen Aufwand bis zu 40 CHF, je nachdem wie gut seine Investitionsentscheidungen waren.
  • Die Teilnehmer sind Studierende (BA, MA, MBA) der Universität St.Gallen.
Content

Das Besondere an meinem Projekt

Experimente werden im Management nur sehr selten durchgeführt, da sie recht zeit- und kostenintensiv sind. Mit deiner Unterstützung können wir tolle neue Erkenntnisse über unsere Emotionen gewinnen und wie diese sich auf die unsere Kreativität und Innovationsvermögen auswirken!

Wie sieht so ein Experiment genau aus?

Zunächst müssen die Teilnehmer einige persönliche Fragen zu ihren emotionalen Fähigkeiten und ihrem Bindungsverhalten beantworten. Dann geht es zum coolen Teil über: einem Explorations-Spiel! Die Teilnehmer müssen sich in die Rolle eines Top Managers versetzen und verschiedene Investitions-Entscheidungen treffen. Am Ende erfahren sie dann, ob ihre Entscheidungen wertschaffend waren. Mehr wird nicht verraten! ;-)

Wenn du wissen willst, wie die Experimente ausgehen, dann unterstütze bitte dieses Projekt! Jeder Franken oder Euro wird von der Gebert Rüf Stiftung verdoppelt.

Unten siehst du einige der Belohnungen, die dich erwarten.

Picture 9fe12afd bcae 4ab4 b583 dd5096dec033Picture f2ceddf6 0fbf 497d 9250 6b9e156ce930Picture 8721c64b 090d 49ea aef9 cd5a5edaa528Picture 99236520 2c51 423f 8623 6cd4e7a437ffPicture 364caf52 422a 42a1 9525 9dcddc633ff5Picture a4410789 e670 4e25 acf4 f07264fe45fdPicture b8c7c3d5 9023 4115 a95e 25aa2467c0d2Picture 75bf4475 3453 47da 8e29 3164ecac69da