What is «Holy Chili!»?

«Holy Chili!» is going to be a 30 minutes documentary about the love of spicy food. For that, we will travel to Guntur, South India, to the biggest chili plantation in whole of Asia. We will go to the farmers on the country side, meet the best chefs in town and talk to the gurus – to find out why Indians are crazy about chilis and what we all can learn from that. We will not just make a film about food, hidden behind the spicy fruit lie many stories about the Indian culture, from Ayurveda to caste system.

Picture 383fc004 c417 4446 8dae cde6a3c746cfPicture fed09a5f b571 4ea3 9842 363d39619507Picture 36af4ba1 0ade 42f7 b2fb 8ec89fc9ec05Picture 005a1d86 f97f 4708 bac9 84da8e9c7547

Why is this topic important?

Stress, work, studies, family…and somehow constantly lack of time – this is how many of us feel. We eat to stop being hungry and on top of that, way too fast. Rarely, we take time to prepare appreciatively a delicious and healthy meal. We tend to skip exactly that what creates the base for our health and thus happiness in life.

How people eat in a country, says a lot about their culture.

In India, cooking and eating are social events to be enjoyed thorougly.

Every ingredient, every spice is carefully selected according to its taste and properties. That’s what turns Indian curries into real health boosters. And chili is at the very forefront of favorite spices. But in Europe, many believe that spicy food is rather unhealthy for the stomach. And isn’t the food spoiled when everything only tastes like chilil? Jump on board and see what we will find out!

Picture b7a9a126 37c4 4672 9849 1611627ae5abPicture bffd39ae bc57 415c bbc7 6316e8547cc6Picture c521eada 4d14 421a 9687 2292f82f3b05Picture 8f68671b 3c70 486f 8a0f 7a75750622efPicture c2f65c45 b934 4260 acf3 ee06dabefcd6Picture c80cf7a6 c7ce 4b6e b395 6b827df2595e

Landscape

Red chilis as far as the eye can reach – simply inspiring for a filmmaker.

Who is behind the project?

We, that’s Eva and Max, are siblings with a passion for filming and travelling.

  • Eva: student at the «Stuttgart State Academy of Art and Design» (focus on film), «Holy Chili!» will be my graduation film.

  • Max: furniture designer and interior architect-to-be, I am excited about filming and editing.

Picture b40376ec e67f 472f ba58 1f9fe857bbb6Picture 55111961 8148 4842 8af7 e977e42beaebPicture 0d136a9e a155 4ddc 80ee 1d17126e28f5Picture b1bbb1a9 888a 4ca0 97f5 3cea24b150a6

We need your support for:

India is pretty far away, Guntur even further! To get to the very untouristic city in South India, we need to travel two days by train, plane and car (via Frankfurt->Mumbai->Hyderabad->Vijaywada). We have three weeks for the shooting and want to make them count! With your support you will help us with:

  1. Travel expenses
  2. Equipment
  3. Insurance
Content

Spice it up! Together we will make it!

Content

Was ist «Holy Chili!»?

«Holy Chili!» wird ein 30-minütiger Dokumentarfilm über die Leidenschaft zur Schärfe. Dafür reisen wir im April-Mai nach Guntur, Südindien, zur größten Chili-Plantage Asiens. Wir wollen auf’s Land zu den Bauern, zu den besten Köchen der Stadt und zu den Gurus, um herauszufinden, warum so viele Inder verrückt nach Chilis sind und was wir davon lernen können. Wir wollen mehr als nur vom Essen erzählen: hinter der scharfen Frucht verbergen sich viele Geschichten der indischen Kultur, vom Ayurveda bis zum Kastensystem.

Picture 383fc004 c417 4446 8dae cde6a3c746cf Picture fed09a5f b571 4ea3 9842 363d39619507 Picture 36af4ba1 0ade 42f7 b2fb 8ec89fc9ec05 Picture 005a1d86 f97f 4708 bac9 84da8e9c7547

Warum ist dieses Thema so wichtig?

Stress, Arbeit, Studium, Familie…und irgendwie immer zu wenig Zeit – so geht es vielen von uns. Man ißt, um satt zu werden und das möglichst schnell. Da kommt das genußvolle Zubereiten von leckeren und gesunden Mahlzeiten oft zu kurz. Dabei ist genau das die Grundlage für unsere Gesundheit und die ist wiederum die Basis für ein glückliches Leben.

Wie ein Volk ißt, verrät unglaublich viel über seine Kultur.

In Indien sind das Kochen und Essen soziale Events, die ausführlich zelebriert werden.

Jede Zutat, jedes Gewürz, wird sorgfältig nach seinem Geschmack und seinen positiven Eigenschaften ausgewählt. Das macht indische Curries zu wahren Gesundheits-Boostern. Ganz vorne dabei ist die Chili. Aber ist scharfes Essen nicht eher ungesund für den Magen? Und schmeckt man überhaupt noch was, wenn alles scharf ist? Finde es mit uns gemeinsam heraus!

Picture b7a9a126 37c4 4672 9849 1611627ae5ab Picture bffd39ae bc57 415c bbc7 6316e8547cc6 Picture c521eada 4d14 421a 9687 2292f82f3b05 Picture 8f68671b 3c70 486f 8a0f 7a75750622ef Picture c2f65c45 b934 4260 acf3 ee06dabefcd6 Picture c80cf7a6 c7ce 4b6e b395 6b827df2595e

Landschaft

Knallrote Chilis soweit das Auge reicht – das muss man sich erst einmal auf der Zunge zergehen lassen.

Wer steckt hinter dem Projekt?

Wir, Eva und Max sind zwei Geschwister mit Leidenschaft zur Kamera und zum Reisen:

  • Eva: Kunststudentin an der Staatlichen Akademie der Bildenden Künste Stuttgart (Schwerpunkt Dokumentarfilm), «Holy Chili!» wird mein Abschlussfilm.

  • Max: angehender Möbeldesigner und Innenarchitekt, ich begeistere mich für’s Filmen und den Schnitt.

Picture b40376ec e67f 472f ba58 1f9fe857bbb6 Picture 55111961 8148 4842 8af7 e977e42beaeb Picture 0d136a9e a155 4ddc 80ee 1d17126e28f5 Picture b1bbb1a9 888a 4ca0 97f5 3cea24b150a6

Dafür brauchen wir Deine Unterstützung:

Indien ist ganz schön weit und Guntur ist weiter! Um die untouristische Stadt im Süden Indiens zu erreichen reisen wir zwei Tage mit Zug, Flugzeug und Auto (über Frankfurt->Mumbai->Hyderabad->Vijaywada). Wir haben drei Wochen für den Dreh und wollen das Beste aus der Zeit machen. Durch deine Unterstüzung hilfst du uns mit:

  1. Reisekosten
  2. Equipment
  3. Versicherung
Picture bb668791 ece8 481d a908 5bb92bbb90f8

Mach mit – zusammen schaffen wir es!

Picture bbb99154 485c 4a7b b7ca 21dd578380ef