Project in pocket size

Wanderbag emerged in New York 2007. In creative collaboration its goal is to increase sensitivity for ecological questions. Creators were invited to develop individual designs. Nearly 100 works of art have subsequently been submitted from many different countries of which 25 were produced in small editions, printed with the silk screen technique and brought into circulation.

I lived in New York for 10 years. Large quantities of goods are packed into countless plastic bags every day. My reusable bag avoided unnecessary waste and served me later as inspiration for this project. Through my interest for art and design I decided to invite friends to create a design. Eventually submissions were produced by people I no longer knew from all over the world. In collaboration with Cabaret Voltaire, Zurich and the Swiss Institute, New York ten different Wanderbags were launched in 2008. In synergy with existing networks innovation evolves. Following the invitation of Ou Bien, Geneva a further co-production has recently been initiated with artists of the region. A «canvas» bonds art, culture, communication and ecology. Wanderbag is an independent organism with a life of its own which crosses borders. With your support the existence of this project would be secure and would guarantee a next event in Rome. All the designs and more information can be found on wanderbag.com

Wanderbags were already produced in limited editions with designs from Olaf Breuning, San Keller, Kerim Seiler, Com&Com, Minimetal, Ludo Gabriel, Yuri Masnyj, Steve Dunan, Sharzad Collective, Matthew McGuiness, Sibylle Stoeckli, Demian Conrad, Veronika Bjarsch, Arthur Jones, Marcel Maeder, Huber.Huber, Franziska Burkhardt, Thomas Galler, Christoph Schreiber, Lehni Trüb, Camille Walala and Cindy Heller.

Thanks to all the participants and contributors, wemakeit.ch, Cabaret Voltaire, Zürich Swiss Institute New York, Ou Bien Genève and Dadadum Lausanne.

Picture 1911f497 752e 41ad 83b4 94b6ac1d162cPicture c383b4c6 2ee2 4916 862d 9036fbe0b1a1Picture 7f6b4e07 9e65 4128 aa36 908049c9b889Picture d03ed758 9c2e 4908 a82f 02c33ee72738Picture 59d030b8 d682 42b2 a385 98a0f2d57166Picture 50c343bf 1aad 4c88 b515 35ce712dc5e1Picture 66c00210 b1ee 40b8 a8a2 4a2196c2ed70Picture 62428e9f b4ea 41dd 9d07 e76c8c77adacPicture 8767d5ca fa4b 4fff babe 27bfdaf5b468Picture 2d2f241a 44bf 4db7 ad55 699c18c83e7bPicture e51a318c 9816 412b 81d0 ac88f20b83a3Picture d73cdb9f ecce 4ef7 b1b2 2e27ed133f8cPicture 22795fbc 0cef 45e3 86af 52259cddd821

Projekt im Taschenformat

Das Konzept Wanderbag nahm seinen Anfang 2007 in New York. Durch kreative Zusammenarbeit soll die Sensibilität für ökologische Fragen erhöht werden. Künstler und Designer sind eingeladen, Sujets als Druckvorlagen zu entwickeln. Nahezu 100 Designs sind aus verschiedenen Ländern eingereicht worden. Davon konnten bisher 25 Entwürfe in kleinen Auflagen im Siebdruckverfahren produziert und in Umlauf gebracht werden.

Durch mein Interesse für Kunst und Design kam ich auf die Idee Freunde einzuladen, Entwürfe für Wanderbag zu gestalten. Nach und nach kamen Beiträge von mir unbekannten Leuten aus der ganzen Welt dazu. 2008 konnten in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Cabaret Voltaire Zürich und dem Swiss Institute New York zehn Wanderbags produziert werden. In Synergie mit bestehenden Netzwerken entsteht neues. Auf Einladung von Ou Bien, Genève fand 2011 eine weitere Co-Produktion mit Künstlern aus der Region statt. Eine Leinwand verbindet Kunst, Kultur, Kommunikation und Ökologie. Ich habe zehn Jahre in New York gelebt. Täglich werden grosse Mengen von Einkäufen in unzählige Plastiktüten verpackt. Mit einer wiederverwertbaren Tasche, die mir später als Inspiration für dieses Projekt diente, wirkte ich diesem unnötigen Verbrauch entgegen.

Wanderbag ist ein selbständiger Organismus mit Eigenleben und überschreitet Grenzen. Mit der Unterstützung dieses Projektes bleibt das Weiterbestehen gewährleistet und ermöglicht die nächste Veranstaltung in Rom.

Wanderbags wurden in limitierten Editionen produziert mit Designs von Olaf Breuning, San Keller, Kerim Seiler, Com&Com, Minimetal, Ludo Gabriel, Yuri Masnyj, Steve Dunan, Sharzad Collective, Matthew McGuiness, Sibylle Stoeckli, Demian Conrad, Veronika Bjarsch, Arthur Jones, Marcel Maeder, Huber.Huber, Franziska Burkhardt, Thomas Galler, Christoph Schreiber, Lehni Trüb, Camille Walala und Cindy Heller

Dank an alle Teilnehmer & Beitragenden, wemakeit.ch, Cabaret Voltaire Zürich, Swiss Institute New York, Ou Bien Genève und Dadadum Lausanne.

Picture 1911f497 752e 41ad 83b4 94b6ac1d162c Picture c383b4c6 2ee2 4916 862d 9036fbe0b1a1 Picture 7f6b4e07 9e65 4128 aa36 908049c9b889 Picture d03ed758 9c2e 4908 a82f 02c33ee72738 Picture 59d030b8 d682 42b2 a385 98a0f2d57166 Picture 50c343bf 1aad 4c88 b515 35ce712dc5e1 Picture 66c00210 b1ee 40b8 a8a2 4a2196c2ed70 Picture 62428e9f b4ea 41dd 9d07 e76c8c77adac Picture 8767d5ca fa4b 4fff babe 27bfdaf5b468 Picture 2d2f241a 44bf 4db7 ad55 699c18c83e7b Picture e51a318c 9816 412b 81d0 ac88f20b83a3 Picture d73cdb9f ecce 4ef7 b1b2 2e27ed133f8c Picture 22795fbc 0cef 45e3 86af 52259cddd821