What This Project Is About

EIKON turns 25! An uncommonly advanced age for an art magazine—and we want to celebrate this occasion with «5 x 5. Photo Tracks»: with the help of five renowned photography experts, we want to create a comprehensive and elaborately produced reference book for contemporary photo art and theory—consisting of five books in a high-quality slipcase. Publishing this 200-page compendium, we seek to explore the path of recent, occasionally confusing, history of photography, and highlight its dominant themes.

Picture fb04e7ee 65b2 4277 b7b5 4470f68d181c

«5 x 5. Photo Tracks»—or: How It’s Done

For «5 x 5. Photo Tracks,» we commission experts (Abigail Solomon-Godeau, among others) to write essays, who will then choose «their» five artists and, therefore, «their» subjects they want to work on. We select our authors very carefully, paying particular attention to the diversity of their approaches, thus guaranteeing a broad spectrum of artistic positions and subjects. In order to achieve the best possible and most authentic results, the artists discussed in «5 x 5. Photo Tracks» will be involved in the development process for the entire duration of the project.

Picture 3d7f4057 034f 4db0 a47a 98171f6fe6f0 Picture 94cb9ab2 4ace 4d3c 9844 40eae5875a62 Picture 4d48cda6 546e 4dea 98a6 a509e061d682 Picture c8824bda 3cce 4696 9124 8abceb06fe2b

Who We Are

We at EIKON—International Magazine for Photography and Media Art have been long-time promoters of promising newcomers in (art) photography. For almost twenty-five years, we have been accompanying young, up-and-coming artists and tracking early new tendencies in photography. EIKON is a bilingual magazine (German/English) published quarterly.

Picture d103ba10 4935 4d5e 8b47 dd6850a55847 Picture 274a75f6 6762 4d3d ac8d f8ee61657c74 Picture 30b29bbb 1729 4eb3 a8ff a70c68908934 Picture ccdb7339 1b9f 4873 9de7 1df32df05dca Picture 9d588f61 174c 4d8f bd8b 22f1166c1c07 Picture 73601a58 9cdb 4e32 8860 fe25d161ef38

Why We Need Your Support

The publication «5 x 5. Photo Tracks» is a special project that requires its own funding and cannot be financed with the public funds available to us. Therefore, we lack the budget for the entire production—printing and binding (about ½ of the project costs), graphic design, and writers’, translators’, and copyeditors’ fees.

Why Support Us?

After twenty-five years of publishing, we once again want to take a stand for high quality, material durability, joy in the haptic experience, and, not least, (photo) art with «5 x 5. Photo Tracks,» a publication that is guaranteed not to collect dust on the bookshelves.

The «5 x 5. Photo Tracks» Hard Facts In A Nutshell

  • five clothbound books in a clothbound, embossed, and printed slipcase, approx. 200 pages, numerous color images, texts in German and English
  • list price: 80 Euro
  • distribution to select (art) book stores and via the EIKON online shop
  • presentation at international art fairs and art book fairs
  • publication date, book presentation, and party: June 2016 in Vienna, Austria

As a Token of Our Gratitude …

… we have put together many unique packages for you that revolve around the core subject of photography and publishing—from guided photo tours and hand-selected art prints unavailable on the free market, to workshops and, of course, the publication «5 x 5. Photo Tracks,» hot off the press—we have something for everyone!

Thank you for your support!

PS: All rewards may also be used as gifts—for further information about this option, please contact us at office@eikon.at!

Picture c781ee87 7aaf 4316 9806 641ac0dbc20f Picture 49a5ffe9 b79f 441d 9a2e 131a2a26d7ef Picture 8e8b16a8 daa8 476f 8ea5 aed87dd8b7b1 Picture 20ea40f1 ead4 40fc a3fb 2c83039fd4d7 Picture 1bb25e76 189d 4d58 964f 1d24a3c1741c Picture e64222cd bfaa 4ce4 adf9 a1aa3c80d308

Worum geht’s?

EIKON wird 25 Jahre alt! Dieses für ein Kunstmagazin fast schon unerhörte Alter möchten wir mit der Herausgabe der Sonderpublikation «5 x 5. Photo Tracks» feiern: Mit fünf herausragenden FotoexpertInnen soll so ein umfangreiches, gleichzeitig hochwertig gefertigtes Nachschlagewerk zur zeitgenössischen Fotokunst und deren Forschungsfeldern entstehen – bestehend aus fünf, in einem Schuber zusammengefassten Büchern. Mit diesem insgesamt 200 Seiten umfassenden Kompendium möchten wir fünf Wege durch die nicht immer leicht zu überschauende jüngste Geschichte der Fotografie bahnen und deren dominierende Themen herausstellen.

Picture fb04e7ee 65b2 4277 b7b5 4470f68d181c

«5 x 5. Photo Tracks» – oder: Wie wird’s gemacht?

Wir beauftragen die für die Texte von «5 x 5. Photo Tracks» verantwortlichen ExpertInnen (u.a. Abigail Solomon-Godeau), diese wählen in weiterer Folge «ihre» fünf KünstlerInnen und damit auch «ihr» Fotothema, das sie erarbeiten möchten. Die AutorInnen werden mit größtem Bedacht ausgesucht, wobei insbesondere auf die Unterschiedlichkeit ihrer Ansätze geachtet wird um ein breites Spektrum an künstlerischen Positionen und Themen zu garantieren. Um ein optimales und authentisches Resultat zu erzielen werden auch die in «5 x 5. Photo Tracks» vorgestellten KünstlerInnen während der gesamten Projektzeit eng in den Entstehungsprozess der Publikation eingebunden sein.

Picture 3d7f4057 034f 4db0 a47a 98171f6fe6f0 Picture 94cb9ab2 4ace 4d3c 9844 40eae5875a62 Picture 4d48cda6 546e 4dea 98a6 a509e061d682 Picture c8824bda 3cce 4696 9124 8abceb06fe2b

Wer sind wir?

Wir von EIKON – Internationale Zeitschrift für Photographie und Medienkunst fördern seit jeher vielversprechende Newcomer der (künstlerischen) Fotografie, begleiten junge, aufstrebende KünstlerInnen und spüren frühzeitig neue Tendenzen in der Fotografie auf.

Picture d103ba10 4935 4d5e 8b47 dd6850a55847 Picture 274a75f6 6762 4d3d ac8d f8ee61657c74 Picture 30b29bbb 1729 4eb3 a8ff a70c68908934 Picture ccdb7339 1b9f 4873 9de7 1df32df05dca Picture 9d588f61 174c 4d8f bd8b 22f1166c1c07 Picture 73601a58 9cdb 4e32 8860 fe25d161ef38

Dafür brauchen wir deine Unterstützung:

Die Publikation «5 x 5. Photo Tracks» ist ein Sonderprojekt, das eigene Mittel erfordert und mit dem uns durch öffentliche Förderungen zur Verfügung gestellten Geld nicht gedeckt werden kann. Deshalb fehlt das Budget für die komplette Produktion (Buchdruck & Bindung (= ca. ½ der Projektkosten), Grafik, Texthonorare, Übersetzung, Lektorat).

Warum unterstützen?

Mit «5 x 5. Photo Tracks» möchten wir nach 25 Jahren des Publizierens einmal mehr ein Zeichen für Qualität, für materielle Beständigkeit, für die Freude am Haptischen und nicht zuletzt für die (Foto-)Kunst setzen, das garantiert nicht in den Bücherregalen verstauben wird.

Noch einmal in aller Kürze ...

… die Hard Facts zu «5 x 5. Photo Tracks»:

  • 5 Bücher mit Leineneinband in Schuber (Leinen, geprägt & bedruckt), ca. 200 Seiten, zahlr. Abb. in Farbe, Texte auf Deutsch und Englisch
  • Verkaufspreis im Buchhandel: 80 Euro
  • Vertrieb in ausgesuchte (Kunst-)Buchhandlungen und über den EIKON-Online-Shop
  • Präsentation auf internationalen Kunstmessen und Art-Book-Fairs
  • Erscheinungstermin, Launch und Party: Juni 2016 in Wien

Als Dankeschön …

… haben wir für euch viele unterschiedliche Pakete rund um unser Kernthema Fotografie und Publizieren geschnürt – von geführten Fototouren über erlesene, auf dem freien Markt nicht erhältliche Kunstwerke bis hin zu Workshops sowie natürlich die druckfrische Publikation «5 x 5. Photo Tracks» sollte für jede/n etwas dabei sein!

Danke für eure Unterstützung!

PS: All unsere Belohnungen können übrigens auch verschenkt werden – bei Fragen hierzu stehen wir euch jederzeit gerne unter office@eikon.at zur Verfügung!

Picture c781ee87 7aaf 4316 9806 641ac0dbc20f Picture 49a5ffe9 b79f 441d 9a2e 131a2a26d7ef Picture 8e8b16a8 daa8 476f 8ea5 aed87dd8b7b1 Picture 20ea40f1 ead4 40fc a3fb 2c83039fd4d7 Picture 1bb25e76 189d 4d58 964f 1d24a3c1741c Picture e64222cd bfaa 4ce4 adf9 a1aa3c80d308