Our Chocolate Revolution

Have you ever noticed that basically all industrial chocolates taste the same? What a pity when you know that hundreds of different cacao varieties exist in the world - each one being absolutely unique … But why then can’t we taste this richness and diversity in the chocolates we buy? The reasons are simple. The industry only uses a handful of commercialized cacao varieties, blends them no matter what region they came from and applies standardized production processes to achieve the same result. In the end all the chocolates taste the same and we lose this great diversity of cacaos. We want to change this!

Two years ago we started a Chocolate Revolution and co-founded together with 36 cacao farming families from the Alto Huayabamba valley in Peru «Choba Choba» the first Swiss chocolate brand that belongs to cacao farmers. Through this unusual business model we want to reverse the rules by which the chocolate industry plays. The cacao farmers become entrepreneurs, run their own business and benefit from the success of their own company.

Today, with the launch of the «Nativo Project» we take our Revolution to the level of the product. We want to preserve the diversity of cacao by protecting rare and native varieties, creating chocolates out of them and thus fighting against the industry’s standardization of taste.

Picture a2e0cbb2 a6d6 4329 beab db08b72e8b91Picture c8c4740d 6416 4411 b38f 1537bf99a018Picture 72df13bd 6053 4c09 b502 4cac2b0ca28bPicture ab109558 f881 4daf 81af 30281d4c1db5Picture 28060851 3978 4bb3 9d7d 76d627826525Picture 91f15d62 702f 47c6 b541 a53fbaf0bdafPicture 5a07ad69 1e87 488d aa03 f4126dd26ec0Picture 322fc9fe ceb6 48af a4f9 12d77ba0e19ePicture 68619bbc e48f 47bd a7c9 bb4c0163c941Picture 34439cbc 1bbe 42ec b05a d7f2bb1c4952Picture 9d3f0bc3 8b06 4852 97c2 ea36ddde9a11Picture e381bd9a 8320 4ecb 98d6 99bc75505dc3Picture a93e2417 92df 4d04 97d0 800554827b76Picture a8a298da 725e 41dd a018 d3ad8046c495

Preserve rare cacao varieties and create unique chocolates with us!

In the jungle of the Alto Huayabamba Valley in Peru, we have discovered around 50 cacao varieties that only grow in this part of the planet. The Choba Choba farmers proudly call these cacaos «Nativos» and we know very little yet about these varieties except that they have extraordinary aromas.

The objectives of our Nativo Project are:

  • compile an exhaustive and detailed inventory of these cacao varieties;
  • build a conservation site to preserve these cacaos in situ;
  • analyze each of these cacao varieties for its own distinctive features;
  • replant and cultivate them in our communities;
  • create pilot chocolates with these varieties.

The 80’000 CHF we want to collect through this campaign will allow us to get started. And already this autumn, we will craft the very first chocolates out of an assemblage of cacaos Nativos: the Nativo Chocolate Box that is at the center of this campaign!

Reaching the objective of our campaign will allow us to embark on an exciting long-term journey! By supporting our project you become an important part of this adventure and will follow its evolution step by step. Year after year, as our research advances, we will create new and every time unique chocolates with these cacao varieties. The assemblage creations of the first years will soon be replaced by single variety creations, meaning: one cacao Nativo variety = one chocolate creation. And we want you to play a central role in this creation process by enjoying these chocolates every year and sharing with us your impressions.

Picture 45e7164a 2858 4e30 ac7d a3ffc56a55c4Picture 20409f0c 7c0d 4263 ae47 7ac2390119bcPicture 1dbfa3d0 191a 4c7e a305 c4584348ff90Picture 9c00f6a3 27ea 4e01 8268 27a381ec314cPicture ec8893de b865 4c37 b9db 4e50a7b61e4fPicture 712ea108 c02b 4c00 97f3 12ab9c7adab4Picture eb287626 070c 465a 90ec 71de9add244cPicture 4f2c184d 4fac 4139 b273 b0956f12421bPicture 653384ee f8a6 48d4 b085 d344b27335a1Picture b92c2ed1 9240 4092 b240 ce7971ce79c3Picture ed04bb7b 98e2 41a1 b790 99e290064147Picture babe93e7 6426 404f aeb5 cbe489a0cfac

Extraordinary chocolates for Christmas!

You help us – we help you! By supporting our campaign you automatically take care of your Christmas presents! ;-) The Nativo Chocolate Box at the center of this campaign is the most extraordinary gift you can think of: unique, meaningful and incredibly delicious!

The Nativo Box will contain three pure dark chocolate bars each with a different percentage of cacao and made out of an assemblage of our Nativos. This will allow you to fully discover the complexity of aromas of these precious cacaos as you enjoy them bit by bit. Our chocolates are crafted by the Swiss chocolate maker Felchlin, one of the best on the planet, and will be delivered to you fresh off the mill mid December – right on time for Christmas!

Browse through these images to discover more rewards of our campaign. Maybe you’ll go to Peru next year?

Picture cad0b0e7 2676 4c4b 9cf4 99836610a7bcPicture fb77e61e 807e 462c 80f8 47b740da0295Picture b63de84c b2bb 459f ab2d 8b5dd5063751Picture a2b6bab8 d6fe 4af3 9e23 43e84351b175Picture 60833f96 4719 488c 9e4c 7551f2899f63Picture cb58e7f0 9da2 4f71 97ab 285ac361f12fPicture d952cf83 749a 4f9e 8e77 39f77b8ff97fPicture ce67fc93 d3f7 417e bda9 8c2564359d80Picture a27c48ec 583a 45f9 ae80 75bc9ec19c50

Unsere Schoggi-Revolution

Ist dir schon einmal aufgefallen, dass industrielle Schokolade immer gleich schmeckt? Echt schade, wenn man weiss, dass es auf der Welt hunderte verschiedene Kakaosorten gibt und jede einzelne von ihnen absolut einzigartig ist… Aber warum können wir dann diese reiche Vielfalt nicht herausschmecken? Bei der Schokoladen-Produktion verwendet die Industrie heute nur einige wenige dieser Kakaosorten und vermischt sie miteinander – ganz gleich wie unterschiedlich sie sind und wo sie herkommen. Die standardisierten Produktions-Prozesse ergeben stets das gleiche Resultat. Dadurch droht die natürliche Vielfalt von Kakao zu verschwinden und dagegen wollen wir ankämpfen!

Vor zwei Jahren riefen wir die Schoggi-Revolution aus! Zusammen mit 36 Kakaobauernfamilien aus dem Alto Huayabamba Tal (Peru) gründeten wir Choba Choba, die erste Schweizer Schoggi-Marke, die Kakaobauern mitgehört. Mit diesem ungewöhnlichen Geschäftsmodell wollen wir die Spielregeln im Schokoladen-Business komplett umdrehen: Kakaobauern sollen Unternehmer auf Augenhöhe werden, eigene Entscheidungen treffen und vom Erfolg ihrer Firma profitieren.

Heute mit unserem «Nativo Projekt» wollen wir nun auch das Produkt selbst, die Schokolade, revolutionieren. Wir setzen uns für Kakao-Vielfalt ein, indem wir ursprüngliche Kakaosorten erhalten, daraus Schoggi kreieren und so der Geschmacks-Standardisierung der Industrie trotzen!

Picture a2e0cbb2 a6d6 4329 beab db08b72e8b91Picture c8c4740d 6416 4411 b38f 1537bf99a018Picture 72df13bd 6053 4c09 b502 4cac2b0ca28bPicture ab109558 f881 4daf 81af 30281d4c1db5Picture 28060851 3978 4bb3 9d7d 76d627826525Picture 91f15d62 702f 47c6 b541 a53fbaf0bdafPicture 5a07ad69 1e87 488d aa03 f4126dd26ec0Picture 322fc9fe ceb6 48af a4f9 12d77ba0e19ePicture 68619bbc e48f 47bd a7c9 bb4c0163c941Picture 34439cbc 1bbe 42ec b05a d7f2bb1c4952Picture 9d3f0bc3 8b06 4852 97c2 ea36ddde9a11Picture e381bd9a 8320 4ecb 98d6 99bc75505dc3Picture a93e2417 92df 4d04 97d0 800554827b76Picture a8a298da 725e 41dd a018 d3ad8046c495

Hilf uns, ursprüngliche Kakaosorten zu bewahren und einzigartige Schoggi zu kreieren!

Im Urwald des Alto Huayabamba Tals in Peru haben wir rund 50 ursprüngliche Kakaosorten gefunden, welche nur in dieser Region wachsen. Die Bauern haben diese Kakaosorten «Nativos» getauft. Noch wissen wir sehr wenig über diese verschiedenen Kakaos, ausser dass sie unglaublich aromatisch sind.

Im Rahmen unseres Nativo Projekts werden wir:

  • eine vollständige und detaillierte Bestandsaufnahme dieser ursprünglichen Kakaosorten erstellen;
  • sie in einem Garten vor Ort heranzüchten;
  • jede einzelne von ihnen auf ihre spezifischen Eigenarten untersuchen;
  • diese Kakaos von den Choba Choba Bauern anbauen lassen;
  • «Pilot-Schoggi» aus diesen Kakaos Nativos herstellen.

Die 80’000 Franken, welche wir durch die Kampagne sammeln möchten, erlauben uns, dieses spannende Langzeitprojekt zu lancieren und bereits im Herbst, die allererste Schokolade aus einer Assemblage dieser Kakaos Nativos zu kreieren: die Nativo Schoggi-Box!

Eine erfolgreiche Kampagne ist erst der Beginn dieses spannenden Abenteuers, auf das wir dich mitnehmen wollen! Während wir die Kakaos Nativos erforschen, werden wir Jahr für Jahr kleine Mengen neuer Schokoladenkreationen daraus produzieren, die jedes Mal einzigartig sein werden. Auf die Assemblage-Kreationen der ersten Jahre werden Kreationen folgen, welche ausschliesslich aus der einen oder anderen Nativo-Sorte gemacht sind: also 1 Nativo-Sorte = 1 Schokolade. Und wir möchten, dass du bei diesem Kreationsprozess aktiv mitwirkst, indem du die Schokolade Jahr für Jahr probierst und sie beurteilst.

Picture 45e7164a 2858 4e30 ac7d a3ffc56a55c4Picture 20409f0c 7c0d 4263 ae47 7ac2390119bcPicture 1dbfa3d0 191a 4c7e a305 c4584348ff90Picture 9c00f6a3 27ea 4e01 8268 27a381ec314cPicture ec8893de b865 4c37 b9db 4e50a7b61e4fPicture 712ea108 c02b 4c00 97f3 12ab9c7adab4Picture eb287626 070c 465a 90ec 71de9add244cPicture 4f2c184d 4fac 4139 b273 b0956f12421bPicture 653384ee f8a6 48d4 b085 d344b27335a1Picture b92c2ed1 9240 4092 b240 ce7971ce79c3Picture ed04bb7b 98e2 41a1 b790 99e290064147Picture babe93e7 6426 404f aeb5 cbe489a0cfac

Aussergewöhnliche Schoggi zu Weihnachten!

Du hilfst uns, wir helfen dir! Denn indem du unser Projekt unterstützt, hast du bereits für deine Weihnachtsgeschenke gesorgt! ;-) Die Nativo Schoggi-Box, welche du als Belohnung dieser Kampagne erhältst, ist das beste Geschenk: absolut einzigartig, mehr als nachhaltig und super lecker!

Diese Box wird drei Schokoladentafeln enthalten, gemacht aus der ersten Assemblage unserer Kakaos Nativos. Die Tafeln unterscheiden sich durch ihren Kakaogehalt und laden dazu ein, die Aromen dieser ungewöhnlichen und feinen Kakaos zu entdecken. Die Schokolade wird vom Schweizer Schokoladenhersteller Felchlin produziert – wir versichern, einem der besten auf dieser Welt. Ganz frisch wird die Schoggi Mitte Dezember direkt zu dir nach Hause geliefert – genau pünktlich zu Weihachten!

Hier auf den Fotos kannst du dir verschiedene Belohnungen unserer Kampagne anschauen. Und wer weiss, vielleicht hast du ja Lust nach Peru zu reisen?

Picture cad0b0e7 2676 4c4b 9cf4 99836610a7bcPicture fb77e61e 807e 462c 80f8 47b740da0295Picture b63de84c b2bb 459f ab2d 8b5dd5063751Picture a2b6bab8 d6fe 4af3 9e23 43e84351b175Picture 60833f96 4719 488c 9e4c 7551f2899f63Picture cb58e7f0 9da2 4f71 97ab 285ac361f12fPicture d952cf83 749a 4f9e 8e77 39f77b8ff97fPicture ce67fc93 d3f7 417e bda9 8c2564359d80Picture a27c48ec 583a 45f9 ae80 75bc9ec19c50