A book about ghostletters?

They are fleeting urban witnesses, permanently threatened by removal or by being painted over: ghostletters are generated wherever and whenever writing has left a trace after having been removed. Some of them are still visible years, even decades after removal.

Due to the fast change in lettering methods, ghostletters will, in a couple of years, have disappeared completely from urban spaces. This is why we would like to dedicate a book to them – Europe’s first publication devoted to this topic.

How will this book come into existence?

What makes this project special is that the book is currently in the creation stage. It is one of the first combined crowdsourcing and crowdfunding campaigns in Austria.

Our partner is the Wien Museum, and we use its facebook community to ’cite sites’ and to provide information on them. By end of June, when the project is completed, we hope to have a comprehensive collection of this city’s ghostletters. 100 of the most interesting or outlandish will be photographed for publication in the book.

Apart from the photos, contributions by experts such as Sam Roberts of Ghostsigns (London) or the Stadtschrift society (Vienna), as well as interviews with, inter alia, producers of signboards will provide additional insight into the fascinating world of ghostletters. The book’s presentation will take place in autumn in the Wien Museum, an event to which all supporters will be invited.

What happens with your money?

We are three enthusiasts investing hundreds of unpaid hours of private time into this project. Your support will be used to cover the book’s production costs, as well as those of the postcard edition, the poster, and the gift wrapping paper. The proceeds from the original vintage letterings we will share with the Stadtschrift society, whose work for the conservation of this city’s beautiful characters we greatly admire.

If our financing goal is surpassed, we will – should it be financially feasible – make a small dream come true and integrate detachable postcards into the book. In this manner, all of us will profit.

What’s your reward?

We have devised many things to reward our supporters. Apart from the book itself, there is to be a postcard edition, posters, and much more. If you would like something a bit more personal, you can have yourself photographed with the ghostletters of your choice, or decorate your office or living room with vintage lettering from the Stadtschrift society for a whole year (Sorry, Vienna only). 

As a special goodie, our partner Neonline will produce bespoke neon lettering especially for you (Sorry, Vienna only). We hope that our rewards will meet your taste and purse. Just click on the button and choose the perfect gift.

How else could you help us?

Let us make the book possible

by telling us about ghostletter sites.
by giving us information on sites we already know about.
– by telling your friends of our project, and sharing this site.

Ein Buch über Ghostletter?

Sie sind flüchtige Zeitzeugen, ständig von Demontage und Übermalung bedroht: Ghostletter entstehend überall da, wo Schriftzüge demontiert werden und ihre Spuren hinterlassen. Viele von ihnen sind noch jahrelang, einige sogar jahrzehntelang im öffentlichen Raum sichtbar.

Durch sich rasant verändernde Beschriftungsmethoden werden Ghostletter in ein paar Jahren aber wohl ganz aus dem Stadtbild verschwunden sein. Deshalb wollen wir ihnen nun das europaweit erste Buch zum Thema widmen.

Wie entsteht das Buch?

Das Besondere an diesem Projekt: Das Buch ist gerade im Entstehen. Es ist eine der ersten kombinierten Crowdsourcing und -funding Aktionen in Österreich.

Als Partner konnten wir das Wien Museum gewinnen, über dessen Facebook Community wir dazu aufrufen, uns Ghostletter Standorte zu nennen und Informationen dazu einholen. Mit Ende der Aktion im Juni hoffen wir, eine umfassende Sammlung der Ghostletter dieser Stadt zu haben. Rund 100 der interessantesten oder skurillsten fotografieren wir danach für das Buch.

Neben den Fotostrecken werden redaktionelle Beiträge von Experten wie Sam Roberts von Ghostsigns aus London oder dem Verein Stadtschrift aus Wien sowie Interviews z.B. mit Schilderproduzenten einen tieferen Einblick die faszinierende Welt der Ghostletter geben. Im Herbst findet die Buchpräsentation im Wien Museum statt, zu der wir alle Unterstützer einladen werden.

Content

Was passiert mit eurem Geld bei erfolgreicher Finanzierung?

Wir sind drei Enthusiasten, die in dieses Projekt viele hundert unentgeltliche Arbeitsstunden stecken. Mit eurer Unterstützung wollen wir die Produktionskosten des Buches sowie der Postcard Edition, der Poster und des Geschenkpapiers decken. Die Erlöse aus den Original Vintage Schriftzügen teilen wir uns mit dem Verein Stadtschrift, deren Arbeit zur Erhaltung der wunderbaren Schriftzüge dieser Stadt wir sehr schätzen.

Falls wir unser Ziel sogar übertreffen, werden wir uns – sollte sich das finanziell ausgehen – einen kleinen Traum erfüllen und in dem Buch einen Teil mit herausnehmbaren Postkarten integrieren. Somit hätten wir alle einen schönen Mehrwert.

Picture f2528635 721d 48fa a5cc 2e4804db6ed3Picture dbc8f620 ecfe 45fb bc39 e864b0b5a5c2Picture c47e42b0 f185 45f0 b591 42e8e623045dPicture 7ac78e33 b9ec 4f8d 87ec 955d23df15b1Picture d10d151d 1d5a 45ca 8a17 90ad1abb6313

Was habt ihr davon?

Bei den Belohnungen für unsere Unterstützer haben wir uns einiges ausgedacht. Neben dem Buch selbst soll es eine Postkarten Edition, Poster und vieles mehr geben. Wer’s etwas persönlicher mag, kann sich mit Ghostlettern seiner Wahl porträtieren lassen oder sich einen original Vintage-Schriftzug des Verein Stadtschrift ein Jahr lang ins Büro oder Wohnzimmer hängen. Als besonderen Goodie produziert euch unser Partner Neonline einen individuellen Neon-Schriftzug nach Wahl. Wir hoffen, mit unseren Belohnungen für jeden Geschmack und Geldbeutel etwas dabei zu haben. Schaut doch mal rechts rein und sucht euch was aus.

Content

Wie könnt ihr uns noch helfen?

Lasst uns das Buch gemeinsam möglich machen,