My research project

This summer, I want to expand my knowledge about physics by studying an area called Quantum Optics. I will spend my summer at the world-renowned Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) in Boston, USA where I will try to answer the following question: «Can one project objects far away on a sheet through quantum effects?» If so, we would be able to see the shape of the object projected on the sheet without the beam of light ever hitting the object. This procedure is called «Ghost Imaging», and my hope is that one day it will be a technology used all over the world with highly impactful applications in IT and medicine.
If you want to know more about Ghost Imaging, you will find a link to an article by National Geographic at the bottom of this page.

The Research Science Institute

The Research Science Institute takes place every summer at Massachusetts Institute of Technology, which is known to be one of the best universities in the world, especially in science and engineering. The program is a truly unique opportunity, offered by the Center for Excellence in Education, to bring together 80 of the world’s most accomplished high school students and gives them a chance to experience the entire research cycle from start to finish. The program is supported by luminaries in science, such as Nobel Laureate Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Ketterle. Students read the latest and most impactful literature in their field, draft and execute a detailed research plan, and deliver conference-style oral and written reports on their findings. This is the heart of RSI: a five-week research internship where students conduct individual projects under the supervision of exceptional mentors who are experienced scientists and researchers.

Picture 6ba87b6d df1a 4fd1 8381 e1eac75393ddPicture 02678db4 c033 42ab a781 9c5a5a18ab3fPicture c4044b05 742b 46fe a138 04342d3dbd84Picture e57d69a2 c655 4541 a72a a1250e00d494Picture fcce30f3 4762 416f b347 5cb3bac1f6bfPicture 16de156e 0624 4418 b057 9b3ea022ee70

Make science possible!

Going to the RSI will be an extraordinary experience and will significantly shape my future. I will be spending the summer with many talented students from all around the world and will meet the most famous scientists and engineers. Most likely, I will even get the chance to talk to a Nobel Laureate! Meanwhile, I would be working in one of the world’s leading laboratories at one of the world’s best universities. Unfortunately, this dream comes with a price tag, which I cannot pay alone. This is why, I ask for your support! You would not only be supporting me, but also the future of Swiss science and technology. Today’s students are the scientists of tomorrow!

I would be very grateful for your help. As a thank you, I would honorably mention your name at the final presentation at one of the most famous universities in the world. You would also receive further small gifts from me, which are listed in the information box to the right.

Mein Forschungsprojekt

Diesen Sommer möchte ich meine Kenntnisse über Physik im Gebiet der Quantenoptik vertiefen. Ich werde an eine der weltbesten Universitäten, dem Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) in Boston, USA, fahren und dort während fünf Wochen versuchen, folgende Frage zu beantworten: «Kann dank Quanteneffekten ein Lichtstrahl weit entfernte Objekte auf einen Schirm projizieren, ohne dass der Strahl die Objekte je berührt hat?» Dies will ich mit einer Technik erreichen, die man als «Ghost Imaging» bezeichnet. Ich erhoffe mir, dass Ghost Imaging bald eine weltweit genutzte Technologie sein wird, die bedeutungsvolle Anwendungen in IT oder Medizin findet. Weiter unten finden Sie den Link zu einem Artikel der National Geographic zum Thema «Ghost Imaging»

Das Research Science Institute

Das Research Science Institute (RSI) findet jeden Sommer am Massachusetts Institute of Technology statt, welches weltweiten Ruhm und Anerkennung geniesst, gerade für Naturwissenschaften und Technik. Das Programm des Centers für akademische Exzellenz bietet den 80 vielversprechendsten und begabtesten Jugendlichen aus den USA und dem Rest der Welt die Chance, sich sechs Wochen lang mit wissenschaftlichen Themen auseinander zu setzen. Unterstützt wird das Programm von vielen wissenschaftlichen Grössen, darunter der Nobelpreisträger Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Ketterle. Neben hoch anspruchsvollen theoretischen Kursen führt jeder der Schüler ein fünfwöchiges Forschungsprojekt in Medizin, Naturwissenschaft oder Mathematik durch. Unterstützt werden sie von herausragenden Mentoren, selber erfahrene Wissenschaftler und Forscher. Dabei durchlaufen die Schüler den gesamten Zyklus der wissenschaftlichen Arbeitsweise; sie lesen die wichtigsten Artikel und Publikationen zu ihrem Thema, planen ihr Projekt bis ins Detail, experimentieren und erarbeiten so wissenschaftlich hoch relevante Ergebnisse, die sie abschliessend schriftlich festhalten und konferenzartig präsentieren.

Picture 6ba87b6d df1a 4fd1 8381 e1eac75393ddPicture 02678db4 c033 42ab a781 9c5a5a18ab3fPicture c4044b05 742b 46fe a138 04342d3dbd84Picture e57d69a2 c655 4541 a72a a1250e00d494Picture fcce30f3 4762 416f b347 5cb3bac1f6bfPicture 16de156e 0624 4418 b057 9b3ea022ee70

Machen Sie Wissenschaft möglich!

Das RSI wird für mich ein herausragendes Erlebnis, was meine Zukunft weitreichend beeinflussen wird. Ich werde den Sommer mit den begabtesten und talentiertesten Jugendlichen aus der ganzen Welt verbringen und die besten und innovativsten Wissenschaftler und Ingenieure der Welt kennen lernen. Wahrscheinlich treffe ich sogar einen Nobelpreisträger! Währenddessen werde ich in den führenden Physiklaboratorien der besten Universität der Welt arbeiten. Leider stellt diese einmalige Chance für mich eine grosse finanzielle Herausforderung dar, die ich so nicht alleine bewältigen kann. Deshalb brauche ich Ihre Unterstützung! Sie helfen dabei nicht nur mir, sondern dem Fortschritt der Schweizer Wissenschaft und Technik. Schüler von heute sind Forscher von morgen! Ich bin Ihnen sehr dankbar für Ihre Hilfe. Deshalb möchte ich Ihnen in meiner Präsentation am MIT danken und so Ihren Namen an einer der weltweit renommiertesten Universitäten bekannt machen. Ausserdem erhalten Sie weitere kleine Geschenke, die rechts im Infokasten erläutert sind.